??? interesting dilemma

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tuckmonster, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Tuckmonster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #1
    a friend of mine came up on a basically brand new 3g and i have attempted to jailbreak it with the latest firmware. any suggestions? is this thing un-jailbreakable because it has the latest firmware and baseband? can i find out which baseband it on? i cannot get into the phone so i cant check. only can run dfu mode and when i go to select newest custom firmware it rejects it.. help
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Hummm.... sounds like the phone is locked. And your friend came up on this how ?
     
  3. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #3
    Try putting the phone in recovery mode instead of dfu mode and then restore to the custom firmware.

    For some reason that worked for me.
     
  4. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #4
    said he bought it on ebay
    if i do the upgrade that itunes is offering it will defintely mess up the baseband right??
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    If you update it to official Apple 3.1 or 3.1.2 it will install bb 5.11.xx
     
  6. tryppy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #6
    Well it looks like your friend either stole the phone or bought it stolen off EBay. Either way sounds fishy. Otherwise, I'm sure you both would have clued in that MAYYYBE you could contact the seller and tell them that the phone is locked and you need the passcode.

    Nice try though!
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    My suspicions also.
     
  8. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #8
    there is a misunderstanding. i am now into the phone. i dont roll like that.
    NOW if u guys could help the phone is in 3.1.2 and the 5.11 baseband. i just ran black rain and its not giving me cydia...
     
  9. Bakakage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #9
    After running balckra1n did you get the blackra1n icon on the phone?
     
  10. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #10
    did you see geohots picture on the phone while running blackra1n?

    If you didn't the phone is not jailbroken
     
  11. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #11

    There should be an app called "Blackra1n" on the springboard. Run it and you will be able to install Cydia, Rock, or blacksn0w from there.
     

Share This Page