Interface/design object c xcode

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by danewithoutwax, Dec 28, 2010.

1. danewithoutwax macrumors newbie

I'm still pretty new to programming and object c. I got all my code written now, but how do i create a interface/design for the app? I know how easy it is to do when creating iPhone apps, but i can't seem to figure out how to do it with normal applications?

2. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

Same way as do for the iPhone apart from the fact that Mac OS X interfaces tend to be much more complex than iPhone interfaces and can (and most likely should) span several XIB files.

Just open up Interface Builder and have at it. Then hook up the interface objects with your code.

3. danewithoutwax thread starter macrumors newbie

How do i hook it up?

4. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

It is pretty much exactly the same as the iPhone.

5. danewithoutwax, Dec 28, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010

danewithoutwax thread starter macrumors newbie

I've only seen someone work with the iphone build interface, i've never actually tried it, so i'm sorry, but i don't know what you mean by that.

I have created my desired interface.

6. marktronics macrumors newbie

Might not cover everything, but let's take a stab at it.

You're going to want to create a view controller for your interface winder that is a subclass of UIViewController ( MyFirstViewController : UIViewController).

Then in Interface Builder hit Cmd+0 to bring up the Document Window. Click on File's Owner, then press CMD+shift+i to get the info window to come up. Hit the rightmost tab and set the identity of the File's Owner to the view controller class you just created.

Now, go back to your h file for your class and create ivars for every outlet you need. For example:

IBOutlet UILabel *myLabel;
    IBOutlet UISlider *mySlider;