'Interface eth0 does not exist' terminal error.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CBGFilms, May 2, 2010.

  1. CBGFilms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    Hello I am following a tutorial to bridge my Xbox 360 with my Mac's airport connection at http://ehow.com/how_5284897_use-mac-wifi-bridge-xbox.html

    I've done most of it successfully but having a little problem with step 4 which states 'In the Terminal command line type 'ifconfig eth0'.
    After typing that command the second line returned should start with the word 'inet' immediately followed by an IP address.'

    When I try to do this I get the error 'ifconfig: interface eth0 does not exist' any help? Thanks.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  3. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #3
    If you just type 'ifconfig' you can see the actual interface names that exist on your machine.
     
  4. CBGFilms thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4
    Ok I've done what both of you said, it seems that I am looking for en#, but there is en1 and en0 so which one is the one I want?
     
  5. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    Check in Network Preferences the IP address of the interface you want to use and match with the name in ifconfig.

    I would think that wired is en0.
     
  6. CBGFilms thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #6
    Ahh yes it was en0

    Now the tutorial tells me to note down the inet IP address, but ifconfig en0 returns two 'inet 10.10.10.2... and inet 192.168.2.1...

    Which one? :confused:
     
  7. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    That looks different. What version of OSX are you using?

    It should be 192...
     
  8. CBGFilms thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #8
    I'm using the latest version of Snow Leopard heres a screenshot of what ifconfig en0 returns.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #9
    I think those instructions are very badly written. One does not know if they are talking about wired or wireless, real or virtual network interfaces.
     
  10. CBGFilms thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #10
    Ok but could you help me with one more thing please?
    I need to forward some ports, and there is a field that I have to fill in like this [​IMG]

    Basically what IP do I put in there? It needs to be the IP address of my Xbox, would it be one of the ones shown in the attached devices part of the router settings?
     
  11. jbuk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #11
    [​IMG]

    You're using a Mac, why make it hard for yourself?

    And forward port 3074 to your Mac (not your Xbox, it's now walled off in its own little network) in your router's settings.
     

Share This Page