Interface question

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by --Wolf--, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. --Wolf-- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Chch, New Zealand
    #1
    Just been wondering, how quick is it to pull the Touch out of your pocket, un-hold/lock it and turn the volume down/pause if someone starts talking to you?

    When you go to un-hold it...do you need to slide the slider bar to access music settings? Or can that be accessed while is Touch is still somewhat locked?
     
  2. colto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #2
    Takes about 2 seconds for me to press the home button, slide the bar to unlock, and then press pause or move the volume down. Not a big deal really.
     
  3. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #3
    Or you could just pull the headphones out (doesn't even need to be all the way). It pauses it when you do that...actually all iPods since I believe the 4G have.
     
  4. --Wolf-- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Chch, New Zealand
    #4
    Oh ok, I could've sworn I heard there was a way to bring the controls up without sliding the bar thingy.
     
  5. colto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #5
    You tap the home button twice and it brings up a small menu with a pause, <, and > button plus a volume slider. But that is only if you are using the iPod to do something else such as web surfing. Won't work if it's locked.
     
  6. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #6
    there is...you double click the home button. the controls pop up even if its locked.

    EDIT: dammit...someone beat me to it and he "claims" that it doesnt work when its locked. I could have also sworn that i read somewhere and it works also when locked. oh well.
     
  7. --Wolf-- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Chch, New Zealand
    #7
    Oh, maybe I got confused with that. How's that vid coming along? :p
     
  8. AppleMatt389 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    You sure? I remember in the video tour of the iPod touch it said you can lock the iPod and then bring up the controls by double-clicking the home button. So even if your iPod is locked, you have quick and easy access to the music controls. Correct me if I'm wrong.

    :apple:Matt
     
  9. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #9
    correct me if i'm wrong, but double pressing the home button to bring up the onscreen controls will only work if the ipod touch is locked. if it isn't locked, any press of the home key will bring you to the home screen.
     
  10. infectbda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #10
    No, this function was added to the iPod touch anytime you double press the home button. It will overlay controls over whatever you are doing if you are using the iPod, and will bring them up if the phone is locked.
     
  11. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #11
    It does work if it's locked.
     
  12. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #12
    and...

    all this... AND mine prints out 5 dollar bills 3 times a day. WOW, what a device!!
     

Share This Page