Intermittent Internet HELP!! PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jkilla, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. Jkilla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #1
    Ok, so since I've updated to lion (Also just changed routers, but other people including other macs don't have problems with it) I keep losing internet connection. If I turn the Wi-Fi off and back on it reconnects for maybe a few minutes, seconds or hours. Same effect when I use the diagnostic utility. The Internet, ISP and server are usually red or yellow when it loses internet. PLEASE someone help me this is killing me! :confused::confused: Only happens at home though. At work it works fine. What can be the problem?
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Since it only happens on your new router at home, it would appear to be the router. Try putting the old router back in service to test.

    What model router are you now using?
     
  3. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #3
    Old router was giving problems and stopped working completely. Its an arris54g. I have tried it with another mac and it works fine though. So I'm not sure why mine would give problems.
     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Where did you get the copy of Lion from, ie is it from the App Store or just something you found on the net? Which Mac model are you using? If you want help supply details.
     
  5. Jkilla, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011

    Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #5
    Macbook Pro got it dec 2010 and my version is 11A511 which is the app store mind which is an upgrade not a clean install. 2.66 GHz Intel Core i7 if that helps narrow it down. Could changing the encryption from TKIP to AES help?

    Also copied and pasted info on my wifi

     
  6. Macjames macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    The fact you didn't clean install Lion is sending warning bells off already. Backup your data (not settings) and do a clean install.

    Upgrading an OS without a clean install could cause you all sorts of issues. They should never have offered an upgrade option in the lion installer.
     
  7. Hermes Monster macrumors 65816

    Hermes Monster

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I'm having the same issue, but with the router I've been using for a while. Wifi on/off resolves it for a while but then it goes off. V annoying!

    BTW I also did a App Store upgrade
     
  8. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #8
    What model do you have? I wonder if this is a bug that will be fixed or if I should try to do the clean install as recommended.
     
  9. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
  10. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #10
    So far setting the ip settings manually with a new location is working for me. (That way its only manual when I'm in the trouble location) I believe.
     
  11. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #11
    Never mind. It's still giving problems
     
  12. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
  13. anthonybc78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
  14. Jkilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #14
    So annoying. The next thing I'm going to try is reformatting :(
     

Share This Page