Internal Hard Drive for Time Machine

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by AzRocks, Oct 21, 2007.

  1. AzRocks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #1
    Can you use your internal HD for Time Machine or do you have to have an external one?
     
  2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    You can use a partition on your internal, but unless your working with a Mac Pro or something with a big internal hard drive, there probobly wouldnt be enough room for TM
     
  4. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #4
    I think I will experiment with a partition on my internal before investing in an external.
     
  5. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #5
    That will help protect against accidentally deleted files, but it's not a backup solution, as if something physically happens to that drive, you have lost your backup and original data. Making it pretty redundant.
     
  6. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #6
    You don't need an external. A second internal should work fine as well. I went out and got a 250gb internal. Gonna partition 100gb for leopard and use the rest for extra space. My main drive is 80gb so I should be fine.
     
  7. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #7
    I just noticed something...

    [​IMG]


    Can't partition Boot volume?
     
  8. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #8
  9. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #9
    That kinda sucks...
     
  10. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #10
    I would just go and buy the external anyway, they're relatively cheap; whatever backup solution you go for you will need it. I really wouldn't recommend not having a backup in place.
     
  11. Bass108 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #11
    you can always just buy an enclosure for your internal...relatively cheap $20. just look for some deal with some reputable company.

    then...if you have an enclosure...which any of these external are...you can buy just the internal drives and have multiple backups that you stowe away and put back in the enclosure when you need em.
     
  12. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #12
    Disk Utility can't partition a drive you're currently booted to. Boot to your OS X disc and use disk utility from there to partition.
     
  13. Ti_Poussin macrumors regular

    Ti_Poussin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #13
    You may a well check for iPartition before, for partition need, it's a good app for partitioning OSX.

    http://www.coriolis-systems.com/iPartition.php

    I wish there will be more tools in disk utilities. Hope ZFS come sooner then later for this reason. Like many have already say earlier, you shouldn't backup on a partition over the same drive, it's pretty much useless, except for bad deleting or reverse a file to previous state. If the disk crash your still screw.
     
  14. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #14
    Assuming you have an Intel Mac, you can partition the drive with Boot Camp, and then once it's partitioned, go into Disk Util and format it from FAT32/NTFS to HFS
     
  15. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    I'm going to boot off an external and partition the internal...
     
  16. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #16
    You can backup to a partition, but you can not backup the TimeMachine drive. Therefore, you can not use TimeMachine if you only have one drive.
     
  17. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #17
    I did not understand what you wrote.

    Could you please clarify?
     
  18. krell100 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
    Dedicated Disc For Timemachine?

    I have a Mac Pro, can timemachine use a dedicated internal HDD (in my case 250Gb) for the backup disc? Surely it wouldn't make any difference whether it's in an external case or in the MP enclosure? The only difference is the interface - SATA2 vs Firewire/USB...
     
  19. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #19
    Yeah, as the mac pro has different individual drives in it you can do that.
     
  20. krell100 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #20
    Cool, I'll be doing that then. Thanks for the response Dr.:)
     
  21. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #21
    Well external HDD's are not very expensive anymore. I bought a 250GB Seagate Free Agent at Best Buy for $59.99 minus a $10.00 Rewards Zone coupon that I had.

    Granted 250GB is not huge, but will work fine for Time Machine considering I still have a lot of space left on my built-in 250GB hard drive.
     
  22. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #22
    People were saying that because TimeMachine will backup to a partition on a drive they would test it first by partitioning their internal drive. However, TimeMachine can not backup any part of the drive it is on. Therefore, you need more than one drive. It can be an internal, if you have more than one or boot from an external (which makes no sense to me). It can also be a drive on a server or another machine with file sharing turned on. However, you can not use TimeMachine to backup a drive to itself. You must use another drive. I hope this is clearer.
     
  23. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #23
    Ya that makes sense now.

    You sure about this?
     
  24. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #24
    Apple's explanation of how Time Machine works is very good. See it here.
     
  25. Jade Cambell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #25
    You can't erase the windows partition without restoring the whole drive back to one partition.
     

Share This Page