Internal sata3 PCIE card for the Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by beto2k7, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #1
    Is there any sata3 pcie card out there that allows me to connect my 2 OCZ vertex 4 drives and boot from them?
     
  2. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #2
    Hi beto2K7,

    The Mac Pro has extra esata ports on the mother board, so you can use a product like this to utilize those ports.

    eSATA Extender Cable Adapter

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/MPQXES2/

    I run a 3 TB TimeMachine raid from it with no problems. And its less then $20
     
  3. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Hello,

    Violst: only older Mac Pros have those extra ports. If he has a 2009 or more recent MP, it won't work.

    beto2K7: yes. Search for ASM1061 on eBay, and get some info on that card here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1280517

    On the other hand, placing two fast SSDs on a single card, on any Mac Pro, is going to throttle your SSDs.

    Loa
     
  4. ClassObject macrumors 6502

    ClassObject

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #5
    That's what I use and it works fine. When it arrived the jumpers were smashed in shipping but straightened them out and all is well.

    FWIW 2009+ have ports on the board you can use if you unplug the connector already plugged in. It is sata II so no real advantage.
     
  5. TomTomTuning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
  6. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #7
    ClassObject is correct. On the older mac pros 2006-2008 you have two extra ports on the 2009+ you have 1 extra port. So the extender cable will work. But yes it is eSATA 2.

    Here is a compatability chart.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/MPQXES2/
     
  7. beto2k7, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

    beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #8
    Thanks all for your replies. As for now I have two pcie lanes open. At $12 I might as well buy two of those cards. Will this prevent my ssds from being throttled???
     
  8. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #9
    Hello,

    Not sure about the two cards. If I remember correctly, the top two lanes in recent MP share the same bandwidth.

    Hopefully someone like nano could hop by and confirm.

    Loa
     
  9. beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #10
    That was confirmed by nano in the other thread you linked to. Fortunately for me I have lanes 2,3 and 4 available at the moment and will use lanes 2, 4 with the apricorn velocity solo x2 I just got from amazon. Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page