International Student - Apple Store USA

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by deagle, Jun 8, 2007.

1. deagle macrumors newbie

Hi everybody.

I'm a student from denmark and i'm heading for the US in a couple of weeks.

My question: Is it possible for me to buy a Macbook pro from an apple store with educational discount? I have a international student card (ISIC) aswell as a student ID from my university in Denmark?

2. amoda macrumors 6502a

A friend of mine did that before but I'm not sure if it was offical policy or if the cashier just gave him a break. I would expect that an ISIC and your student ID should be fine. I'd show him/her the ISIC first though and if they want more verifcation then show them the school id.

3. deagle thread starter macrumors newbie

Please reply if you have any experiences with using an international student ID in am apple store.

4. Goldenboy macrumors newbie

Hi deagle

It is possible, I'm from denmark too, and took my bachelors degree in Boston, MA. I bought the old iBook g4 from a us apple retail store, and all I had to show was my ISEC id.

One thing for your consideration though.. - It is of course ALOT cheaper (also check out apple care, its aprox. half price) but it is impossibly to get a danish keyboard when you return, and after a while in dk, its just annoying not to have æøå..

I had apple care with my ibook, and "unfortunately" my keyboard stopped working when I was in dk. I sent it to service at "humac" and they exchanged they keyboard to a danish one.

Hoorraay!

Good luck buying!

5. deagle thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the reply Goldenboy...i have already contacted Humac and a danish keyboard for a macbook pro costs around 1200 KR...

6. Goldenboy macrumors newbie

Hehe, okai, they might have changed the price then. When it was an issue for me, the price was "FROM" 3500 dkr. :) :)

Good luck with your new macbook pro!

7. daneoni macrumors G4

daneoni