International Student

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by lucky518, Aug 8, 2011.

1. lucky518 macrumors member

Well, I know that this is not the right forum for this thread but i have see many educational threads here and since the responses have been quite good so i thought taking a little advice here.
    Right now I am 17 years old or basically in 12th grade, planning my bachelors degree in Computer Science in USA. I have SAT score of 2149 while i will be giving two SAT Subject tests on the 1st of October an i think i will get early full marks(since i am good in physics and maths). So the point i need help in choosing a college which offers good financial aid. I am even interested in working part time. Please do also tell me the application process.
    Any help would be highly appreciated.

2. Daffodil macrumors 6502

Daffodil

I was an international student, and while it was a great experience, and I'd totally recommend it, you need to be aware that there are a lot of extra hurdles to overcome as an international.

The biggest one might be getting financial aid, since this often is very limited for internationals. Before being allowed to enter the country, you generally need to show proof that you're covered financially during your whole stay, which might be tricky. Moreover, the American system assumes that your parents will support you, so need-based financial aid looks at what your parents earn, almost regardless of whether they'll actually be contributing (in my culture I was expected to be financially independent after finishing high school).