Internet connection fails

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Actaeon, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. Actaeon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    Hey everyone.

    I've got an annoying problem with the networking on my Boot camp partition

    Basically my windows partition can't get an internet connection.

    I can connect to the network without any problems, it assigns an IP adress, he finds the gateway and router, no problems there. But he just won't connect to the internet.

    I've restored the network adapter, restored the router, everything works like a charm, but my windows partition just can't connect to the internet.

    The funny thing is that Parallels has the same problem and when he connects with shared networking, my windows gets soooo slow because the Non-active system tasks get real heavy.

    My Mac OS X 10.5.4 partition has no problem at all connecting to the cloud and neither does the iMac and HP of my dad and the MBP (with boot camp) of my brother.

    Maybe it has something to do with the recent security update for mac os x which adressed the DNS leak? But that wouldn't make any sense since the two systems run independently from each other.

    My system is a new MBP 2,5 Ghz, fully up to date. The router, which seems to work just fine, is a US robotics.
    The windows system is Windows XP professional SP2.

    if anyone has an idea, please share.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #2
    If you have wireless..... is it secure?
    In Mac OS X.... the security settings is automatically adjusted to be the same as your router's while in Vista you must do this manually!
     
  3. Actaeon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    The network is WPA2 encrypted but it has always worked fine. I'm running Win XP professional SP2, not Vista.

    I haven't made any changes and all the other Pc's/mac's work just fine.
     
  4. Actaeon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    Found the problem: apparently Zonealarm blocked all http connections.

    Thanks for the help
     
  5. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #5
    LOL....
    Being an ardent Mac user...... I sometimes tend to forget the inclemency of the PC World! Please do forgive me for that!
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    You know you don't need a software firewall… :D

    Well I don't have one.
     
  7. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7

    Pretty much. Your router's firewall should be good enough. I mean come on, what are the chances someone's out to "hack" your connection? Just don't leave your Mac's IP on DMZ mode (where all ports are open and all connections are accepted).
     

Share This Page