Internet connection lost when CPU% goes up

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lilith2014, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. lilith2014 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I have MBP aliuminum, running 10.6

    When I use chrome flashplayer or quicktime or torrent, some times, veryoften I may add, the internet goes off. I can't find a solution. Anybody has any idea?
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    I'm guessing your MBP is quite a bit older.

    Have you tried a clean install of OSX?
     
  3. yangchewren macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    #3
    you should provide us the exact model number of your MBP.

    Later perform some troubleshooting steps to exclude other possibilities:
    1. Do such symptoms appear when using ethernet?(yes->possibly a software problem)

    2. When using another wifi network? (yes->try a further step of cheap troubleshooting, use an external wifi dongle and see if this happens)

    3. After a fresh install of OS X^^^?
     
  4. lilith2014 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #4
    Thank you for your reply guys, I hope you can answer me this after giving more info.

    Yes, is quite old, is a MBP2,2 2007 2.33 inter core duo with 3gb 667 ddr2 sdram.

    When I used ethernet or wifi, it gets disconnected. Only happens when I have one of those three elements open (torrent, chrome with flashplayer on, and quicktime). I see in my Activity monitor how the CPU% goes up with these three, fu***ng chrom helper makes most of the mess and the kernel_task goes up, it has to be memory I imagine, but it didn't mess up like this before.

    Now my new question is. I clear OSX install means all of my stuff will be gone, if I restore it later with my backup, which is a mirror of what I have now, it will be the same at the end right?

    THanks.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    It depends on how much continues space avail in your HDD. If possible, you can crate a partition to perform a clean OSX installation.

    In that case, you will have 2 OS. The new one is for testing purpose. If there is no problem, you can move your data into this new partition, and then delete the old one.
     

Share This Page