Internet drop outs using ethernet

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by twssas, Mar 22, 2015.

  1. twssas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #1
    Running an Imac with Yosemite 10.10.2, which is connected to my time capsule with an ethernet cable. Internet periodically dropping out. I have been unplugging the cable to the time capsule that runs from the modem for a few seconds, and the internet boots back up. This is only happening in the last couple of days after a security update. I am just guessing about a relationship with the update. Time capsule is running 7.7.3 The drop outs are getting more frequent.

    Did know whether to ask here, or elsewhere....

    Would appreciate any help
     
  2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    Go to System Preferences->Network. On the left side of the window is a little gear icon, click on it and select "Set Service Order...". Make sure that Ethernet is listed first. If it us not then drag it to the top of the list. This will force Ethernet to always be used first. See this helps.
     
  3. twssas, Mar 22, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015

    twssas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #3
    Thanks for your reply. I went and checked in system preferences, and ethernet was showing on the top.

    Was wondering would it do any good or harm to renew the DHCP lease?
     
  4. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #4
    You are unplugging the cable between the TC and the modem to re-establish your connection to the internet?
     
  5. twssas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #5
    Yes. Unplugging the cable at the time capsule, that is coming from the modem
     
  6. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #6
    I can't see your iMac having anything to do with that problem. Your modem, the TC, or the cable between them is defective. There should be a link light on the modem and the TC that indicates the status of the connection between them. What happens to those indicators when the internet goes away?
     
  7. twssas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #7
    The green light on the time capsule is staying green. On airport utility, it will show an amber light when the internet has dropped out. When I unplug the TC, the green light on the TC goes to amber, plug it back in, goes green, and airport utility then shows green.

    I thought initially the modem might be acting up, and bypassed the TC with a direct cable to the IMAC . It worked fine. This issue did come up until I download a security update yesterday for Yosemite. Must be coincedental. I dont know.
     
  8. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #8
    Sounds like a coincidence to me. I would power cycle the TC and the modem.
     
  9. twssas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #9
    I have done that 3 or 4 times. Hate to go buy another TC, but that might be the only way to tell.
     
  10. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #10
    A modem would be cheaper than a TC.
     
  11. jimholcomb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #11
  12. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #12
    Just to eliminate a possibility try repairing permissions. I would also try SMC reset and PRAM reset.
     
  13. jimholcomb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #13
    This is for Mavericks and it worked for my wife's iMac, it may work for you. Take a look at the link below, deleting the SystemConfiguration folder and rebooting seems to have fixed it. <br />
    <br />
    <a rel="nofollow" href="http://howtoapple.com/mavericks-wifi-issues-fix/" target="_blank">http://howtoapple.com/mavericks-wifi-issues-fix/</a>

    Rereading my post I didn't make it clear that for me this solved the same problem the OP had, iMac connected Ethernet to a time capsule, losing internet several times a day. Unplugging the cable and re plugging it in resolved things temporarily.
     
  14. ricarod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    #14
    Problem is TC and related to execution of backups ;)

    Hi everyone... I've been dealing with this issues for years now including at least 3 home networks that I manage (including my own) with all sort of wireless and wired setups including several models of Airports Xtreme, Xpress, TC, Apple TV, MacBook, iMac and not Apple devices (Android TV, PC, etc).

    I've used a lot of different AWESOME networks apps (both for Mac and PC) that allows me to monitor signal strengths, interferences, bands, what computer is connected to what devices using X or Y bands, etc......

    (that was just an intro so that you can trust I've verified almost all thinkable scenarios) and have come down to the following conclusion: the disconnection symptom is related to the execution of backups in your TC.

    If anyone here is interested on reading more of how I got to that conclusion I'll be happy to share more but bottom line is that when you lost internet (and it seem like the TC drop you off) "technically" your wireless card is still hook up to the time capsule (so technically you are not disconnected although your signal indicator in your computer might show that you are "disconnected" is just that the time capsule is no longer serving internet to your computer.

    Got it? It may not make much sense to start with but what I am saying is that you indeed do not have internet in your computer and your signal strength indicator might or might not show that you are disconnected but for your time capsule you are still connected is just that some how it get's so busy doing something with the backup functionality that it just doesn't serve internet to your devices for certain period of time (10 mins maybe?) until it gets available again, at that point it start serving internet again to your computer and all get back to normal.

    I'll research a bit more on this direction, although my final solution is not to use TC for providing internet to my other devices and keep it just doing backups (which of course implies purchasing of additional Xtreme or Xpress for taking care of the internet) I might come back to this here with more info from my research in case someone is interested on reading more of this.
     

Share This Page