Internet Explorer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Newmacer2, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. Newmacer2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #1
    I hope I'm posting this in the right place because I really need some help, quickly. Here's the deal. After a very long dry spell, I was just hired on a new job. The job requires a great deal of work-from-home responsibility and I'll be online with the company everyday. The problem, which I was made aware of during training, is that the company uses Internet Explorer for most things and says Firefox and Safari just simply won't do. Rather than turn in my resignation tomorrow, or go out and buy a PC (gag), I was hoping somebody could tell me if it's possible to download and use Internet Explorer on my iMac without problems. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    There once was an IE for Mac, but it was no way comparable to IE on the PC in any way that your company probably requires. MS abandoned it years ago and it will not run on any current version of OSX nor on any intel processor.

    About the only option that you will have that your company will be happy with is running Windows either through boot camp or through visualization.
     
  3. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    My wife works for a local college and she has to use IE at home. I installed VMFusionware for OS X and installed a windows VM. This works out perfectly.
     
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    You're only option is to use a VM, but if you're working for a company like http://www.lionbridge.com they usually frown on VMs also, though I'm not sure they could tell.
     
  5. Newmacer2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #5
    Wow

    I'm totally in the dark here and don't understand what you wrote. Can you explain this to me? It sounds expensive and I'm not sure the job pays enough to warrant it. Much appreciated.
     
  6. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    It's not expensive. In fact I think you can install VirtualBox instead of VMFusion and VirtualBox is free for the non-pro version. Then take any version of windows (preferably Win7) and install it under VirtualBox or FusionWare.

    Once finished all you have to do is double click on the created windows icon, and windows will load Inside of OS X. Just use it as you would a windows machine.
     
  7. Newmacer2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #7
    So, I'd still have to purchase Windows7, right? Thanks for your help.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    If you don't have a copy of some version of windows then yes. That's still a lot cheaper than buying a PC. I purchased a copy for $19.99 using my wife's school account. If you know someone who's a student, that's one way to go on the cheap.
     
  9. Newmacer2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #9
    Thanks

    That's not bad. My son is a teacher, so maybe he could get it for me. I'm notifying my new employer today about the problem and see what they say. Thanks again.
     
  10. Newmacer2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #10
    Update

    So, I talked to my new employees IT department and they tell me all I need to do is install Google Chrome. Sounds to easy/good to be true. Before I do that, I'd like to hear any comments you all might have. I've heard a lot of negative feedback on Chrome, but if I just use it for my job, it might be okay. Thanks.
     
  11. mtngoatjoe macrumors regular

    mtngoatjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #11
    If they said to install Chrome, then install Chrome. Even if the reviews are bad, your employer said to do it. You'll notice pretty quickly if you have any problems.

    If you do have problems, then don't hesitate to go with the other suggestion.

    Congratulation on the new job!
     
  12. Newmacer2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #12
    Thanks

    Thanks for the encouragement. Normally, I feel the same way about employment. You do what they tell you. In this case, the job isn't worth ruining my computer, so that's why I asked the question. I'm coming out of retirement and it's just a part time job to supplement my Social Security. I need the job, so I'll give Chrome a try. Thanks for the good wishes.
     
  13. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
  14. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #14
    I installed a VM for my wife to access her IT stuff. It has two flavors. One is an old copy of XP and the other has Windows 7. Meanwhile, the IT at her job made most things work through google chrome and she isn't using the Virtual Machines any more. For future reference, there is a way to use IE through a free-to-use virtual machine direct from Microsoft. If you go to modern.ie, there should be ready to use virtual machines compatible with Virtualbox (upper left purple tile under "Dev Tools..." at the time I write this).

    Like I said, she is getting away using Chrome and hasn't noticed that the VM doesn't need to load any more for her to do her work-related stuff.
     
  15. Newmacer2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #15
    Thank You!

    Thanks to everyone who responded. I truly appreciate your taking the time to comment. This forum is and always was a lifesaver for me.
     
  16. oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    2nd that!!
     
  17. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #17
    If Chrome will work, there's no reason to make any other changes. I use Chrome on multiple OSs without any issues. Good luck.
     
  18. SandPebble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #18
    3rd that. Absolutey no problems with Chrome.
     
  19. oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    and it's faster too
     
  20. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #20
    The OP wrote above:
    [[ So, I talked to my new employees IT department and they tell me all I need to do is install Google Chrome. Sounds to easy/good to be true. Before I do that, I'd like to hear any comments you all might have. ]]

    You might also try the Epic Privacy Browser.

    It uses the Chrome "engine", but with all the google stuff stripped out of it.

    Epic is designed to be a browser that inherently protects user privacy.

    Freely downloadable and worth a look..
     
  21. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #21
    Install Parallels, stick Windows on top of that, run it in Coherence mode and...
    Walla! Intercrap Exploder on Windoze, on ur Mac:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page