Internet is so slow?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by apples22, Dec 11, 2016.

  1. apples22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #1
    :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::cool::confused::confused::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
    Why is the browser so slow? Is there anything I can do? It hasn't always been this slow, a while back it was reasonable. I have a high speed connection, it's just the computer. It's fast and normal on a macbook air but mine is in the shop. I use tenfourfox as that was the only one I could find. icab just quits.

    I think icab is supposed to be faster but mine quits and won't run.

    I am no where near any other computers except this one. I can't read articles, do academic research or shop! It is so slow.

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions. :)
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    The internet is not slow. It's your pre-2006 era PowerPC Mac.

    Your MacBook Air is normal because it has a faster processor and a better ability to process all the javascript and poor coding on the internet. It powers right through it.

    Our older PowerPC Macs have slower processors and less ability to do this. So the browser slows down.

    You can try and optimize T4FX. See the link in my signature or the pinned post at the top of the forum on how to do that.

    But you have to realize that this is 2016 and your youngest PowerPC Mac is over 10 years old.
     
  3. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #3
    The Internet has not been kind to the PowerPC architecture. When Apple decided that their PowerPC Macs should die shortly after releasing their Intel Macs, most developers followed suit. An equally old PC would likely work better on the Internet because it'd still use the x86 microarchitecture which is used by pretty much all computers you could buy today, though it would also be slow.

    In short, the PowerPC architecture lost Internet support very early after its discontinuation in Apple products and there has been lots of time for the situation to deteriorate. Equally old Windows machines run better (though not by much) on the Internet because they were supported for longer and run a CPU architecture that is still used today. There isn't really anything you can do.
     
  4. mzs.112000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #4
    Your internet is not slow, your CPU is too slow to render it.

    Use NoScript or something similar, this will get rid of Javascript, you should see a speed up, especially on sites with too much clutter.

    Use a Flash blocker or remove Flash player, Flash player is old and slow, and any time it has to render something, it makes your computer seem slower. Also it has major security problems.

    Use an ad blocker, or the MVPS hosts file, this will get rid of ads, and make websites load faster, and also, look cleaner.

    Also install "Local Load", any time you actually need Java script, it will load them from your local cache store, rather than downloading them from the website, which helps speed things up.
     
  5. apples22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #5
    It is a little decent and faster when I don't stream music!!

    That solves that, don't play music.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    The era of being able to stream musc through websites on PowerPC is pretty much over.

    Most of them require Flash which, if you can spoof the site successfully, might work but will peg the processor at 100%.

    pandora.com used to work nicely. No longer. Google Music is broken on a PowerPC Mac through a browser.

    If you want to stream, use iTunes and it's internet radio function.
     
  7. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #7
    If you want Pandora use PianoBarPPC as that will allow you to use Pandora in a terminal rather than a web browser.
     
  8. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #8
  9. G4Droid macrumors newbie

    G4Droid

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    #9
    I don't know what those other guy's are talking about I'm Streaming Music on YouTube right now on my Apple iBook G4 using AuroraFox 20.0a2 for PPC, https://code.google.com/archive/p/aurorafox/downloads

    Works just fine, for me..
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    That version of AuroraFox is approximately 26 versions out of date (TenFourFox, of which AuroraFox was a fork, is currently on version 46 right now) It allows the use of Flash and media plugins because they had not been removed yet.

    AuroraFox development was abandoned years ago. Also, AuroraFox is Leopard only. You can't run it on Tiger.

    You don't know what us other guys are talking about because you are using a very out of date and unsecure browser. That's your business, but at least don't act as if we don't know what we're talking about when you yourself don't bother to mention the issues with AuroraFox I just named.
     
  11. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #11
    There used to be a terminal command that redid a system setting to make the internet really fly. I can't remember the command, but you set it to something truly absurd and it basically takes off the training wheels.

    Software wise, FoxBoxes are your friend, as is going to the mobile sites to decrease strain.
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    You're probably referring to a command that changes MTU, like this:

    System Preferences.png

    MTU determines the size of the data packets the computer sends. Too small and the computer is constantly busy sending small packets. Too big and not all of the data in the packet arrives.

    PowerMacs generally have MTU set somewhere around 1500. Changing this setting can affect your home network as your router may refuse to send packets larger than that - which can then stop the "internet" from working at all.

    In the example above, this is from my MacPro at work, but it's in the same place on PowerPC Macs (System Preferences>Network>Advanced).
     
  13. G4Droid macrumors newbie

    G4Droid

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    #13
    I'm sorry I wasn't trying to imply that you guys didn't know what you were talking about "I Clearly Didn't Know" just that everyone was boo hooing about streaming being dead for the Power PC and I was just trying to show that maybe it wasn't entirely dead though buggy because you are correct that Aurorafox isn't a stable, safe, or secure way to do things.

    Newbie mistake, I didn't mean to upset anyone really..
     
  14. eyoungren, Dec 27, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2016

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    No worries. Sorry, sometimes I can come off too strong.

    The point that was being made in this thread is that OP's expectations haven't changed, but the environment has. And it's the environment that is killing us.

    OP cannot expect to continue without any issues when the environment itself gets more complex, less secure and offers less suport for our older hardware every passing month. Adjustments are necessary, either by knowingly using older software that is less secure for as long as the environment will continue to support it or using workarounds. But expecting it to just function like it always has is denial of the current environment.

    The sad fact is that sooner or later the environment will eventually stop us altogether.

    As an example, for me Google Play Music on my PowerMac and PowerBook ended in 2014. The APIs now required by Flash Player just do not function in the spoofed version of Flash. And HTML5, even though AuroraFox and T4Fx are HTML5 capable, refuses to function in either the browser or a FoxBox. Not even on my Snow Leopard MBP can I get the website to work - in anything other than Chrome of course!

    This killed my music syncing to Google Play from my PowerBook and I was forced to migrate my entire library to my MBP so the system preference would continue to function.

    I'm still on borrowed time with my MBP.
     
  15. G4Droid macrumors newbie

    G4Droid

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    #15
    Is okay, I'm the same way sometimes.

    In my case I've kept my G4 nearly the same as when I purchased it, no fresh installs and most if any software I run is only temporary as I transfer everything I download over to my Windows Computer. Just for now but for now has been nearly a whole year. Although it doesn't bother me to run even unstable stuff as I have nearly nothing to loose on my Mac except maybe some bookmarks.

    With the way windows is going, and all the internet ads nowdays that you almost can't stop is why I use Tenfourfox for most my browsing cause you can still get Ad Block Ultimate that I have to have on every computer. Of course I'm still using windows 7 cuz I refuse to upgrade to 10, though I have download Install Dvd's just encase win7 quits.

    On a side note you can get a Image and Flash Blocker Plugin For Aurorafox I'm not sure it works to well "Or that if it really blocks Flash" as it doesn't seem to block flash video's I wish I could find a Global Video Blocker Plugin "one that isn't solely for Youtube" for some sites like on the annoying CNET downloads. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/image-and-flash-blocker/?src=api

    I use the same plugin for TenFourFox, cuz it helps sometimes just not for CNET. I bought my iBook 10 years late. lol

    Anyway, All The Best..
     
  16. Eriamjh1138@DAN macrumors 6502

    Eriamjh1138@DAN

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    BFE, MI
    #16
    Any tips on how to do this on Leopard? I've done it on my MBP running Sierra and it's made a huge difference, but that machine already runs great and this just made it run a little better (16GB and SSD made a huge difference in an early-2011 MBP).
     

Share This Page