Internet Problem about 'MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool'

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gugule, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. gugule macrumors newbie

    gugule

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    #1
    I downloaded MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool which was posted by MacEFIRom from netkas.
    But the software tells me "This program requires Internet access..." when I run it. I'm sure my Mac Pro 1,1 is connected to the Internet well. After I clicked OK button, the software closed automatically.
    Have you met this problem?
    mac_question.png
    The system is 10.10.5. I tried in 10.7.5 and the result is the same.
    PS. I have to post a new thread about my problem about 'MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool'. So more people can see it and I can get some help. Thanks for any advise.
     
  2. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #2
    If you have internet through proxy (with or without password), that is the problem. I had proxy "problem" few days ago with 1,1 MacPro, with no WiFi or Bluetooth.
    Solution: iPhone 4G Hotspot -> MacBook - Share Internet through Ethernet -> Mac Pro, and there you go internet without a proxy :) flash successful.
     
  3. gugule thread starter macrumors newbie

    gugule

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    #3
    Thank you very much for your help!
    I don't have an iPhone or a MacBook now. But I will try after borrowing them. So I need some time.
     
  4. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    There is no need for MacBook or iPhone.....point is that you need internet with no firewalls, proxies or port limitations.
    MacBook and iPhone are hardware of my choice, you could do this with any Smartphone with hotspot support and Windows/Linux laptop. I must admit that internet sharing is super easy to setup on a Mac.
     
  5. gugule thread starter macrumors newbie

    gugule

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    #5
    Thank you very much for your useful explanation!
    I can't get internet with no limitations for the moment. So I will borrow an iPhone and try.
     
  6. gugule thread starter macrumors newbie

    gugule

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    #6
    After many days, I succeeded finally.
    Here is the way I connect my Mac Pro 1,1 to Internet: My phone --> My PC --> My Mac.
    1, Connect my phone(Android system) to the Internet by its data.
    2, Link the phone to the PC by USB cable and select USB tethering in the phone(share the Internet to the PC). Then the PC is connected to the Internet.
    3, Link the Mac to the PC by network cable and make a bridge between the USB adaptor and the network card in the network settings.
    So, the Mac is connected to the Internet now.
    I started the program(MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool), and I succeeded in updating My Mac to Mac Pro 2,1 according to the information the program told me.
    MacPro2,1hardware_150302.png
    PS. Borrowing an iPhone is another way which is easier.
     

Share This Page