Internet problem...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Xero108, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. Xero108 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #1
    I finally installed Windows on my MacBook, but I don't have the internet and I need to get a connexion up in order to have it. Unfortunately, I'm not quite sure how to do it.

    My Mac OS X's connection was with an Airport connected to my dad's DSL modem. Does it also work with Windows? What do I do to get a connection?
     
  2. scanlanlee macrumors member

    scanlanlee

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Shold be working - did you install the Apple drivers?

    If you did then you should be able to see the wireless network in windows network connections
     
  3. Xero108 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #3
    Well I'll try again. See if it detects anything or offers options.
     
  4. Xero108 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #4
    Nope. It really isn't working. Help please.
     
  5. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
  6. Xero108 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
  7. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #7
    XP? Service Pack 1? Service Pack 2?
     
  8. Xero108 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #8
    I believe it:s server pack 2.

    I have an Airport extreme right beside my laptop. I tried connection using an USB wire. It wouldn't detect it. I downloaded an Airport program on apple.ca that would help me solving the problem and it just doesn't detect any wireless connection. But It's right there. I really don't know what's the problem. I tried everything.
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    there are a few steps.
    you need to find out what kind of encryption your aiport has, WPA2??WPA??

    either way, go to applications>utilities>airport admin utility
    'configure' your airport
    once the window of your airport comes up navigate to the "base station' menu and then "equivilant network password"

    this will give you your windows 128-bit or wateva bit code you are using.

    go into windows, network conenctions>wireless.
    find your network and put in that password.
     
  10. Xero108 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #10

    I know I have to configure it. I went there, but it's asking me informations about my Airport I'm not quite sure I know where to find. Can you just tell me where I should find the info needed to configure it please?
     
  11. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #11

    Sounds to me like this _isn't_ service pack 2 if USB isn't working. USB2 support requires service pack 2. If you right click on "My Computer" and select properties, what does it say under System?

    Mine, which is service pack 2, say:
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Professional
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 2

    What does yours say?
     
  12. Xero108 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #12
    It sais:

    Microsoft Windows XP
    Media Center Edition
    Version 2002
    Service pack 2
     
  13. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #13
    Hm, SP2 is already there. Not sure then why it isn't working.
     

Share This Page