Internet Speed Test Slow

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pinklemonlady, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. pinklemonlady macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #1
    Okay, so my husband went to speedtest.net and test his download and upload... his old a** PC is getting 85mb download, my mac which I just bought in January is only getting 10mb. Can anyone shed light on this? Thanks~
     
  2. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #2
    how are you connected to the network ? Wifi ? Etheret ?
     
  3. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  4. pinklemonlady thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #4
    we are both wireless... yes 85mb.. time warner, my husband works for them so we get max.
     
  5. hipvamore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    CT
    #5
    does your mac have the aluminum casing? the aluminum is sometimes known to block out a lot of signal that a plastic cased notebook could get
     
  6. pinklemonlady thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #6
    Well that sucks :( That's a lot of signal loss. Yes I have the aluminum casing.
     
  7. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
  8. sushma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #8
    Follow the following steps to increase the speed test http://www.ip-details.com/

    1. Go to Start-> Run-> and type gpedit.msc
    2. Expand the Administrative Templates branch
    3. Expand the Network tab
    4. Highlight QoS Packet Scheduler
    5. Click on Limit Reservable Bandwidth and check the enabled box
    6. Then Change the Bandwidth limit % to 0 %
     
  9. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #9
    The OP has a mac ...
     
  10. bobbytomorow macrumors 6502

    bobbytomorow

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #10
    lol
     
  11. JulianY macrumors newbie

    JulianY

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #11
    out of interest what type of wifi box have you got ?
     
  12. pinklemonlady thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #12
    right now we have a netgear typical router, however, my husband said we will be getting a new router that requires wireless N.
     
  13. JulianY macrumors newbie

    JulianY

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #13

    It seems you are the third person in this forum with this kind of problem, all see to involve netgear routers (a statistic not a proof)

    i have another thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=969083&page=2) running with some very technical people. you might want to hold off upgrading to see if we get to the bottom of this

    kind regards

    J
     
  14. pinklemonlady thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #14
    Great thanks! I will check it out... as for upgrading it's a time warner thing... they are offering faster service but it's not compatible with the netgear we got from them. Plus we have to upgrade the wireless cards in the other computers as they do not support Wireless N.
     
  15. JulianY macrumors newbie

    JulianY

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #15
    BTW, i just ran a test where by i installed ccproxy on the pc and pointed the mac at it. Result - full speed.:eek:

    I am defiantly beginning to think non compatible cable model. proof though is yet to be seen

    Julian
     
  16. JulianY macrumors newbie

    JulianY

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
  17. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #17
    Looks like there are certain modems not compatible with MBPs airport card...
     

Share This Page