Invalid serial number

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jays83, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. jays83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    #1
    I have an iMac 27" (late 2009 version 11,1) and is had been working just fine. After the hdd went bad I installed a new one and installed El Capitan without any problem. But after I tried to use icloud services it wont work. After some digging it turned out that the serial number is not the same as the bottom of the computer. I found out that the logic board was changed some years ago and they must have entered wrong serial on the new one.

    Is there any way I can change it or somehow trick the system so I can use icloud services?
     
  2. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
  3. FreemanW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #3
    THIS.

    Whomever serviced this unit, replaced the logic board? Yeah, they fornicated the K-9, badly. Any Apple Authorized Service Provider has software that interrogates the unit and displays the serial number. It also provides a register or enter for the serial number.

    My late 2012 displayed "Unavailable" for serial number immediately prior to having the hdd replaced on the recall. The Service Provider connected my unit on intake and I observed as they entered the correct S/N.

    Among the one thing they did correctly, two guys did the deed. One read back the S/N to the other one as the other one was viewing the screen.

    Good luck
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Nope call apple or an authorized apple repair center.
     
  5. bogg macrumors 6502

    bogg

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5

    in the system info does it show a serial? If it is unavailable or blank there they could have missed setting a serial altogether. If that is the case you should be able to use the following guide: http://rogersm.net/icloud-problems-mountain-lion-serial-number

    If it is in fact set but wrong, contact Apple as that is your best hope
     
  6. jays83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    #6
    Yeah, it has a new serial thats not valid. I've contacted the company who did the service. The problem is that the computer is old but the service itself was made during the the first two years. They looking into a solution here. They must have added totally wrong serial.
     

Share This Page