Invisible Drobo

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by janlewis, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. janlewis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    #1
    Hi everyone,
    I have a Drobo mini connected by USB to my mac mini (late 2014 running 10.13.4)
    Drobo dashboard is identifying the drobo but I cant see it on my desktop or sidebar.
    I used to be able to see it but can't specify when it stopped showing, but its possibly due to an upgrade.

    I found a solution that suggested that somehow my drive got set to "invisible".
    It says
    run this Terminal command:

    GetFileInfo /Volumes/Drobo/

    where /Volumes/Drobo/ is the path to the volume in question. This command returns all the attributes set for that volume. If the list of attributes includes a V (capital V), it means that the volume is invisible.

    If I type this into terminal, I get this:

    jans-Mac-mini:~ janlewis$ GetFileInfo /Volumes/Drobo/

    /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr/bin/GetFileInfo: could not refer to file (-43)

    (I also downloaded xcode but I've got no idea how to use it!)

    Any ideas?
     
  2. niteflyr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    Check your Finder, Preferences settings under the general and sidebar tabs and make sure show "external disks" are selected.
     
  3. janlewis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    #3
    Thanks niteflyr, but that's not it. The box is ticked and I can see my time machine external drive plus another device. Any other thoughts? Do you know how I can get to the code that might be making it invisible?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 9, 2018 ---
    This is the most relevant link I could find but the problem's not the same. He can get to his through Go To but mine doesnt appear there either. It is definitely connected and turned on because Drobo dashboard can see it.
    https://apple.stackexchange.com/que...ve-mounts-but-doesnt-appear-in-finder-anymore
     
  4. twalk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #4
    Do this command first: ls /Volumes

    That will show all of the mounted drives and volumes on your Mac. With Drobos, they'll often appear slightly different than just 'Drobo', such as 'Drobo5N'

    If a 'Drobo something' appears in that list, then redo the GetFileInfo command with that Drobo name (ex: GetFileInfo /Volumes/Drobo5N )

    If a 'Drobo something' doesn't appear in that list, then the Mac is failing to automount the Drobo. If this is the case, then I would suggest that you contact Drobo support, since that will likely be a more significant issue
     
  5. janlewis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    #5
    Aha, thank you twalk. It doesnt appear so I will try Drobo or a drobo forum.
     

Share This Page