iOS 10 and memory management

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by FortWorthMac, Oct 5, 2016.

  1. FortWorthMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #1
    Hey all,

    Has anyone noticed memory issues with iOS 10 on the iPhone 6s series of devices?

    Ever since upgrading when trying to multitask, whatever app I am bringing back to focus has to reload, sometimes even losing the data that I previously was using.

    My free space is fine and I am using 10.0.2.

    Thanks
    David
     
  2. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #2
    I've noticed it on my iPad.
     
  3. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #3
    I'm going to try and do a video later tonight. It's very frustrating. I was just trying to log into an app. Went to my home screen, opened 1password, then went back to the original app I was using. It took my back out of the app like I was just opening it. The login screen was no longer in focus.
     
  4. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #4
    Well I just bit the bullet. I made sure i had a good icloud backup then did a full reset. We'll see how it goes.

    Tonight,on the way home if I clicked out of Waze then went back into it, I had to restart my whole "trip".
     
  5. Thor_1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I had 10 on my 6s for 2 weeks or so and did not experience that issue.
     
  6. RobNor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #6
    The iPhone 7 is worse on IOS 10 than the iPhone 6s+ even with 1GB more memory
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    And at the same time others are having great experiences with iOS 10 with iPhone 7 line of phones and even earlier models.
     
  8. Conan86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    The iPhone 7 has 2GB of RAM like the 6s. Only the 7 Plus has 3GB
     
  9. EdgardasB macrumors 6502a

    EdgardasB

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Location:
    Lithuania
    #9
    Also noticed aggressive ram management after ios 10 upgrade.
     
  10. krazirob macrumors member

    krazirob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #10
    Make sure you have programs enabled to run in the background. If you don't then yes it will stop when you switch to another app.
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    Enabled to run in the background? They are all enabled to a degree that iOS allows them.
     
  12. UKapple73 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #12
    Think he means background app refresh, stands to reason iOS will keep stuff in memory if that's on
     
  13. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #13
    iOS 10 is definitely more aggressive with ram management. I've noticed this since the first Developers Beta on my 6s Plus.
     
  14. Aston441 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    #14
    iOS 10 isn't "aggressive ram management." It's a bloated pig that uses up all available ram to do cutie pie things like balloons and bubble pop ups everywhere.
     

Share This Page