iOS 10 'Hey Siri' with multiple devices

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by jetho, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. jetho macrumors member

    jetho

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    #1
    Hi there,

    I somewhere read during the beta phase that with iOS 10 when saying 'Hey Siri' when multiple devices are around, only one of them will actually respond. However, my iPad and 6s both keep answering me a the same time (tried it with wifi only and wifi+bluetooth).
    Does anyone know how I can geht this to work?


    Cheers
     
  2. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
  3. jetho thread starter macrumors member

    jetho

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
  4. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #4
  5. Cayden macrumors 6502a

    Cayden

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    I just tried it out and that feature seems to work. My iPad Pro is on and my phone wasn't, but the second Siri popped up on my iPhone my iPad immediately quit the Siri page. Maybe try restarting your devices?
    It seems the 9to5mac article specifically mentions the iPad Pro. I'm not sure if this is the only one it works with, but that could be a possibility. Are you using a Pro and a 6s?
     
  6. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #6
    This has been working seamlessly for me for the last few betas. Not sure what to do if both are still activating short of reporting the bug :/

    Edited to add I'm using a 6s Plus and 9.7" iPad Pro.
     
  7. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
    Didn't realize this was a feature. Just tried and works perfectly. Is there a way to determine which is the default device?
     
  8. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #8
    I assume iCloud is talking in the background to decide which device is active, similar to how the AirPods are purported to seamlessly transition based on which device you're using.
     
  9. jetho thread starter macrumors member

    jetho

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    #9
    Yeah, I'm using the 6s and the iPad Pro 9.7. Did you have bluetooth activated? I'll try restarting when I got back home, just did 2 or 3 test runs before going to bed yesterday. But at least I know now that this feature is (in principle) still there.
     
  10. Cayden macrumors 6502a

    Cayden

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Location:
    Utah
    #10
    Yes Bluetooth was on with both devices, but I don't have them paired together, so I don't believe that it's necessary
     
  11. ISRMafia macrumors regular

    ISRMafia

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Israel
    #11
    Do you have iCloud synced on same user ? maybe that will help?
     
  12. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #12
    Both of my devices were not active and its been defaulting to my iPhone in all my tests (limited amount of tests - 4).
     
  13. jetho thread starter macrumors member

    jetho

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    #13
    Ok, I've run a few tests and got it to work. But from my experience bluetooth has to be activated. Based on that I'm assuming it works in a similar way than handoff (?).
     

Share This Page