iOS 10 not using LTE?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by iModFrenzy, Jul 3, 2016.

  1. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #1
    So I threw iOS 10 on my 6S and noticed something ever since. It seems like iOS 10 doesn't connect and use LTE. I never see the LTE icon at the top anymore where as I would usually see it in iOS 9.3.2. It's enabled in settings as well.

    Anyone got any ideas why?
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Um, if your network speed is identical to LTE speed then you are safe.
    Icon is just an indicator.
    Or maybe next beta it will change.
     
  3. ladytonya macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    Just turned off wifi for a sec to check this because I was pretty sure I've been using LTE and I am, no worries![​IMG]
     
  4. tjleonard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #4
    Sweet, I know my wifi calling icon is usually more of a miss than a hit but it usually works.
     
  5. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #5
    Well if your 6s hates LTE mine loves it. It disconnect from Wi-Fi every time the device turns off.
     
  6. djtech42 macrumors 65816

    djtech42

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    #6
    My device keeps disconnecting from LTE for 10 seconds and then reconnecting.
     
  7. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #7
    My network speed is 1.1mbps at 3 bars. Something is definitely wrong here. I am on AT&T also. Any AT&T users here?

    Could this be on my networks side? I'll check MyAT&T and see if LTE is enabled(this same thing happened to my iPhone 5 oddly but disappeared once I got my 6S on 9.3.
     
  8. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    Then it has a good chance your device is not using LTE network. Mine always show 4G, but speed is around 30Mbps up/down at maximum.
     
  9. tjleonard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #9
    What your normal network speed?

    It could be the network side, but I would suspect they wouldn't only be serving 1mb...

    Have you tried rebooting your phone? I know mine gets worse and worse over a week and rebooting it (since iOS 10) every few days helps.
     
  10. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    AT&T in Chicago shows 4G for me 99% of the time now. I seem to never get LTE either.
     
  11. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #11
    I went back to iOS 9.3.2 today, I think when you upgrade to iOS 10 it screws with AT&Ts system (maybe cause it's a beta?). But anyway, I went back and I still have 4G. Like the phone won't connect to LTE anymore.

    Speeds also became even worse, at a slow 0.55mbps at 3-4 bars on 4G.

    I'll call AT&T on it, they'll probably see my phone isn't connected to the LTE network and reset it.
     

Share This Page