iOS 13 import photos

wingnut8

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 8, 2007
1,286
34
can anyone get this to work? I cannot import photos on my phone or iPad. Using an SD card from a Sony A7iii. The card appears as read only in files and doesn’t pop up to import in the photos app anymore. SSD works fine however.
 

rocketxl5

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2019
3
0
Mine did exactly the same thing with A7Riii sd card,it could see the card but names it "ERRORNAME" i couldn't copy the contents anywhere despite being able to see them.all the other external storage options i have worked fine though.
i uninstalled the beta after that as being able to use my pad for photos is the main reason for taking it on trips.
 

rocketxl5

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2019
3
0
I also shoot with a Sony A7iii and have the exact same problem.
I found out that,If you rename the card On a Mac to something like sonySD and then insert into iPad ,it will grant you access to all the things you want ..... unfortunately that means carting around a laptop AND an iPad Pro around which seems a big work around for travelling .. but maybe it’s ok for home/office use ...of that helps you.
 

AKKanMan

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2019
7
0
I found out that,If you rename the card On a Mac to something like sonySD and then insert into iPad ,it will grant you access to all the things you want ..... unfortunately that means carting around a laptop AND an iPad Pro around which seems a big work around for travelling .. but maybe it’s ok for home/office use ...of that helps you.
Thanks I will try that.
[doublepost=1561829006][/doublepost]Just tried it and it works now!
Thanks for the help.
 

jmp51483

macrumors member
Apr 22, 2010
42
12
I found out that,If you rename the card On a Mac to something like sonySD and then insert into iPad ,it will grant you access to all the things you want ..... unfortunately that means carting around a laptop AND an iPad Pro around which seems a big work around for travelling .. but maybe it’s ok for home/office use ...of that helps you.

Good find! I’ve been wrestling with my A7Riii as well. Does the name of the SD card change back whenever you format it within the Sony camera?

Wondering if you’ve got to rename it more than once or not.
 

rocketxl5

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2019
3
0
Good find! I’ve been wrestling with my A7Riii as well. Does the name of the SD card change back whenever you format it within the Sony camera?

Wondering if you’ve got to rename it more than once or not.

Yes if you reformat the card In the camera it returns to it’s original name, then you’ll need to rename it on your laptop before the iPad will see it again .
I can’t find a way to rename the card in the camera or iPad ...or even with an android tablet.
 

AKKanMan

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2019
7
0
Is this something Apple would likely plan on fixing in future updates or are we Sony shooters stuck with this problem.
 

Koshington

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2019
11
2
Just found this fix out for myself! Couldn’t find this post earlier! If you get the ipad to delete the files after import, its a kind of work around instead of letting the camera format it and make it useless again for the iPAD

EDIT- I’ve since found out there are other hurdles ahead. Even though the card & files appear on ‘files‘ getting them into Lightroom poses more issues.
1) if you try to get them into into Lightroom, after selecting them on the card In files & then ‘share’ - you can only do 10 images at a time, otherwise nothing happens (crap news if you have a few hundred like me) and thats only sometimes as for some reason, sometimes Lightroom isnt even available on the share menu!
2) if you try to import them From the card into ‘Photos’ with the intention of then doing the normal route to get them into Lightroom - its a no go as ‘photos’ try’s to import then just puts a ‘no entry’ sign on each image. ⛔

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS WITH FUJIFILM images as thats all i have tested it on
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: rocketxl5