Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ohaishawnn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 5, 2011
207
156
Austin, Texas
After updating to beta 2 of iOS 14, my work email no longer works on my native iOS mail app. I am getting the error seen in the attached screenshot when trying to sign into my email account using Exchange/Office 365. After searching for a while I seem to only find fixes that would potentially work if I was my company’s sys admin lol.

I’ve put in a ticket with IT to see if they can grant me access to this but I don’t have high hopes. I first experienced this with my iPhone and then after seeing the issue I updated my iPad to beta 2 and the same issues persisted, so I’m pretty certain it’s connected to iOS 14.

Has anyone else experienced this issue?
 

Attachments

  • 10B8AEE6-8857-44DF-8301-73D7369F55AD.jpeg
    10B8AEE6-8857-44DF-8301-73D7369F55AD.jpeg
    122.5 KB · Views: 1,645

Hemmik

macrumors member
Jun 7, 2011
44
30
Amsterdam
I have the exact same issue. I've also contacted my IT department but am quite sure they will not fix it for me.
 

maitoman

macrumors newbie
Oct 3, 2015
3
3
I have the same problem. I think IT department won’t solve this problem, it must be solved by iOS Team. However the Outlook app is still working ?
 

Cinimod1000

macrumors 6502
Dec 7, 2016
286
310
I had the Exchange/O365 issue, saying I needed admin approval for it to accept my password. Went into settings > Calendar > Accounts > O365 account and deleted it. Then immediately added it back. All working okay again.
 

maitoman

macrumors newbie
Oct 3, 2015
3
3
I had the Exchange/O365 issue, saying I needed admin approval for it to accept my password. Went into settings > Calendar > Accounts > O365 account and deleted it. Then immediately added it back. All working okay again.
Here doesn’t work! I tried twice times to configure it and it’s not working...
 

ohaishawnn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 5, 2011
207
156
Austin, Texas
Here doesn’t work! I tried twice times to configure it and it’s not working...

I’ve also tried re-adding it multiple times and can not get it to work.

Funny, I also tried signing in on my Mac (which is not running a beta) and I am having the same issue.
 

Cinimod1000

macrumors 6502
Dec 7, 2016
286
310
Here doesn’t work! I tried twice times to configure it and it’s not working...
I’ve also tried re-adding it multiple times and can not get it to work.

Funny, I also tried signing in on my Mac (which is not running a beta) and I am having the same issue.

Hmm, odd. It took me a couple of tries, then all of a sudden the page showed check marks (in that it had verified), and it worked. Didn't get the page asking for Admin permission the last time I tried. In that you couldn't get El Capitan to work on your Mac, maybe something server side is busted, rather than B2? Sorry, don't know other than that it worked for me.
 

ohaishawnn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 5, 2011
207
156
Austin, Texas
Hmm, odd. It took me a couple of tries, then all of a sudden the page showed check marks (in that it had verified), and it worked. Didn't get the page asking for Admin permission the last time I tried. In that you couldn't get El Capitan to work on your Mac, maybe something server side is busted, rather than B2? Sorry, don't know other than that it worked for me.

I forgot to mention that I also tried on my iPad and got the same issue. Restore my iPad back to iPadOS 13 and it's working fine now...
 

Der Keyser

macrumors 6502
Aug 18, 2016
258
193
Oh no - lets hope this won’t be iOS13 over again. It took months after release before Exchange/activesync worked resonably well in the native mail app. I for one learned my lesson with iOS 13. I’ll wait until iOS 14 hits 14.2 or something before upgrading.
 

MLVC

macrumors demi-god
Apr 30, 2015
1,607
3,748
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Hmm, I do have an issue with an SMTP server from my provider. It works fine when in wifi (and in that case I don't need to add username/password) but is stuck at verifying when I do add username/password. Works fine on my phone with 13, stuck at verifying at my phone and iPad running 14. Of course provider is of no use. It's just a pop account though.
 

4492865

Cancelled
Jun 30, 2017
271
285
For me, I dismissed that message about the admin, and then it showed a password field. Put my password there and then it worked.
 

justinwithers

macrumors newbie
Jul 8, 2020
15
6
Any issues with Microsoft Authenticator?
None, I have to use it and it works fine but to the thread above, if you get that far you will fail, cancel back a page and then just enter the password and Next and then it works, maybe have to try a couple of times but not too many
 

ericg301

macrumors 68020
Jun 15, 2010
2,278
2,471
None, I have to use it and it works fine but to the thread above, if you get that far you will fail, cancel back a page and then just enter the password and Next and then it works, maybe have to try a couple of times but not too many

ok thanks. here goes nothing
 

justinwithers

macrumors newbie
Jul 8, 2020
15
6
ok thanks. here goes nothing
Interestingly/annoyingly this does not appear to work at all on my iPad, regardless of how many times I try. It looks like it is but no account actually gets added. Who knows? I guess we wait for next beta and cross fingers
 

ozsmac

macrumors newbie
Jul 11, 2020
17
6
<Update - I re-tried the work around of hitting cancel and it worked for me on three devices>

I have exactly the same issue, happened straight after the iOS 14 beta 1 upgrade to my first iOS device. We use Microsoft Authenticator MFA, so I also don't appear to be able to get away with the work around that works for some.

One really odd thing, my second iPad, that was iOS 14 Beta 1, also prompted for a re-auth and had the same issue. So it's almost like iOS 14 Beta 2 triggered something that I can't recover from.

I've asked my corporate admins to see if they can help, but I don't hold much hope to be honest. I guess I'll just use the Outlook app until hopefully Beta 3 arrives and might be able to clear the issue.

PS - If I had to guess, the issue appears to be a possible update that Apple have made to the UID presented to M365 by "Apple Internet Account" application. Where organisations don't have auto approve turned on (by the sounds of it anyone here who has reported the issue) we are stuck. Let's hope they can regress the change in the next beta, use the old app UID and we should be ok. Once again this is a guess, I'm now busy googling how the M365 app auth actually works to see this if this is the case.
 
Last edited:

ozsmac

macrumors newbie
Jul 11, 2020
17
6
CORRECTION - I tried once again and this workaround also works for me (my two iPads and iPhone are now working with my corporate M365 account again).

I added a new account
Authenticated using normal process (for me the Microsoft Authenticator App)
When it prompted with "need admin approval", I tapped cancel
The settings app popped up, I entered in my password
And it worked!

Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: justinwithers

ohaishawnn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 5, 2011
207
156
Austin, Texas
CORRECTION - I tried once again and this workaround also works for me (my two iPads and iPhone are now working with my corporate M365 account again).

I added a new account
Authenticated using normal process (for me the Microsoft Authenticator App)
When it prompted with "need admin approval", I tapped cancel
The settings app popped up, I entered in my password
And it worked!

Thanks!

Unfortunately, this still doesn't work for me, I get an authentication error. I ended up restoring my iPad back to 13 and its working fine so definitely something with the beta. I too opened a ticket with my IT department but ended up closing it because I don't think they can help at this point lol.
 

golosin2

macrumors member
Nov 22, 2012
50
9
CORRECTION - I tried once again and this workaround also works for me (my two iPads and iPhone are now working with my corporate M365 account again).

I added a new account
Authenticated using normal process (for me the Microsoft Authenticator App)
When it prompted with "need admin approval", I tapped cancel
The settings app popped up, I entered in my password
And it worked!

Thanks!

Not working for me. It let me add it, but immediately afterwards iOS asked me again.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.