iOS 4.2 GM

Discussion in 'iPad' started by papa8706, Nov 8, 2010.

1. papa8706 macrumors 6502a

Sorry, not sure where the best area to post this is. I have been waiting to get my hands on the 4.2 update but I am not a developer. I have heard people state that the betas are the only ones that require a UDID/ seen videos of people doing so on youtube.

My question is, is it still okay to download the iOS 4.2 GM and the iTunes beta if I am not a developer. I know you have to be connected to itunes to do so and I didn't know if there are any risks that I should be aware of. Is it illegal or what not despite not needing a UDID or is it fine to upgrade now?

thanks

2. jmann macrumors 604

jmann

bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    If you are not a developer you should just wait a few more days for the public 4.2 to be released. :)

3. shandyman Suspended

i've done GM every time going back to 2.0 no issues here

4. mudslag macrumors regular

mudslag

When did people stop using the search function? Over the last few weeks there has been an overload of retarded questions that could be answered with an easy search, either on this site or just google alone.

5. papa8706 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Haha, I did use the search function and google. When did people feel the need to waste time being sassy on forums. I didn't come up with much on this specific GM or the risks of not being a developer such as voided warranties or if you are going to require a udid to restore like you did on the betas. Instead of wasting time not finding the exact answers it's easier to use a forum sometimes. Since many developers are in this forum I figured they would have more insight and i was interested in hearing their opinions regarding non developers installing it. Apple is known for this kind of stuff and I'd rather be safe than make a retarded decision that would cost me $$$ despite of a few wiseass replies in the process.