iOS 4.3 amazing memory management

Discussion in 'iPad' started by spammerhamster, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. spammerhamster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #1
    :eek::eek:
    I think Apple really did something magical. They added extra memory with a firmware update! (Or they introduced an amazing memory management subroutine)

    Webpages with large images which couldn't be fully loaded with the ipad1 on iOS4.2.1, can now be fully loaded!
    No more blue questionmarkboxes!

    Anyone noticed this too? It annoyed me enough to make me want to upgrade to ipad2, but now I have to rethink.
     
  2. Mattstkc macrumors 6502a

    Mattstkc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    imagine with the improved graphics and processor how much MORE awesome it will be though..
     
  3. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
  5. spammerhamster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #5
    Examples:

    pretty much all picture topics on this site used to partially load:
    But here's an example.
    http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=835864


    Also this one page used to crash icab. It's a nightmare of mobile browsers. A combination of multiple animated gifs, video's, hundreds of large pics, and insane javascript (firefox on my quadcore machine with 6GB ram and SSD is choking on that page)

    It's still slow to load, but it's loading everything.:
    http://www.dannychoo.com/post/en/26033/Akihabara+Guide.html
     
  6. MSUSpartan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #6
    So they fixed something that shouldn't be broken in the first place? Wow!
     
  7. bchreng macrumors 6502a

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #7
    They found out how to wring out even more awesomeness from iPad. Wow!
     
  8. Kadin macrumors 6502a

    Kadin

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #8
    Those last 2 links are a nightmare practically on my desktop... almost a total slide-show when scrolling.

    If that entire page can load in Safari now on iPad 1, I'm damn impressed...
     
  9. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    I have engadget, tuaw, eurogamer, igoogle and macrumors open in different tabs. Going back and forth and it's not forced reloaded yet? Good work.

    Could they have enabled the virtual memory trick themselves I wonder?
     
  10. spammerhamster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #10

    It's certainly not easy for the iPad. It takes like 4 , minutes to load, but it's loading. And it's loading everything. I do notice it's faster and smoother on portrait than in landscape though.
     
  11. spammerhamster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #11
    They fixed a hardware limitation with an software update? WOW!
    Imagine how powerful ipad2 and iPhone 5 would be!
     
  12. iFalcon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #12
    Are you serious? I can't wait to update mine tonight. Just picked up a 32GB from Craigslist.
     
  13. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #13
    Ever heard of virtual memory?

    All the memory in the iPad is flash to begin with. It's not hard to allow the system to use free space on the disk to cache.
     
  14. spammerhamster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #14
    If it's actually swap. We don't know for sure until 4.3 is jailbroken. Apple never did vm so it'd be new. Diskusage is the same though.
     
  15. MSUSpartan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #15
    Or how powerful the iPad 3's camera will be? I had an iPad and will buy an iPad 2, but people do cut Apple too much slack sometimes. I also own AAPL shares so I'm not a total troll.

    It's a hardware (and now apparently software) limitation because Apple designed it that way. They knew what trade offs are being made and they did it to boost the bottom line. They didn't put extra RAM in nor put in the proper programming of the OS to take advantage of the onboard flash. People didn't mind and bought the iPad in droves so it's all right, but let's not praise them for fixing something that they could've done right a year ago when the product came out.
     
  16. JoJoCal19 macrumors 65816

    JoJoCal19

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #16
    Makes me even more excited for Friday. The iPad 2 might be able to replace my MacBook for 90% of my usage.
     
  17. JoelMarcey macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #17
    So it would never load images 23-40? Or would it load after a while?

    I don't have an iPad right now, but I am testing iOS 4.3 on the iPhone 4. When I load that Boston.com site, I get the checkerboard as I scroll down the site, but then after a bit, the images do load up. All the images end up loading. No question marks. But as I scroll back and forth quickly amongst the site, the checkerboard sometimes comes back up.

    Do you see the checkerboard pattern still, even though all the images are still loading?
     
  18. jazz1 macrumors 65816

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #18
    Just Sold Mine-I'll Never Know the Joy

    Well after about a week on the market I just sold mine. I really wanted to have a chance to check out 4.3 on my iPad before popping for a new one. I was wondering if 4.3 would make things better for the gen. 1 iPad.
     
  19. redman042 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #19
    MacRumorUser, kudos for picking a website that truly tests memory management capabilities of the iPad. Most don't understand what the issue really was for iPad Safari and the RAM limitation.

    Well, you're right. I just updated to 4.3 on my iPad. Not only can I load all the pics from Big Picture for the first time, but two other tabs that I had previously loaded in Safari STILL did not have to refresh when I went back to them. Now THAT is impressive! I'm truly surprised.

    I was planning to upgrade to an iPad 2, partly to fix this very issue. This is making me rethink a little, but I do believe that the better CPU, greater RAM, and better memory bandwidth of the iPad 2 will make browsing far better. I think many people are overlooking the potential improvements in web browsing on iPad 2 given the greater power under the hood.

    Most likely what I will do at this point is hit up an Apple store this weekend, bring my iPad 1, and do a side-by-side performance comparison on some heavy-duty websites with the iPad 2. I'll report back.
     
  20. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #20
    iPhone 4...iPad.

    HUGE difference in how many images can be loaded...
     
  21. fishcube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #21
    Those who have upgraded OS, how is it done on the Ipad?
     
  22. JoelMarcey macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #22
    I never really paid attention much on either the iPad or iPhone 4. All of the images on the iPhone 4 for that site load up. There are no ??? anywhere. I just get the checkerboard pattern as I scroll up and down. Maybe it won't do that on the iPad -- I never really took notice if it had checkerboards before.
     
  23. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #23
    So you're saying that ALL of the pictures loaded properly? No more ? in a blue little box?

    If so, that is simply awesome! I frequent the photo forum on Skyscraperpage.com very often and it bugged the crap out of me to the point of where I would visit the site only on my desktop. Can't wait to pick up my iPad 2 on Friday since I sold the iPad 1 already and can't test it myself.
     
  24. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #24
    So 4.3 uses Virtual Memory?
     
  25. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #25
    I just updated my wife's iPhone 4 to 4.3 and am keeping mine at 4.2.1 until a jailbreak is released but I tested both iPhone side by side with this website...

    http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/showthread.php?t=189079

    On 4.3, the iPhone loaded all images and in a decent amount of time. The 4.2.1 iPhone took about twice as long to load and nearly 1/2 the images came out as little blue boxes with a ? in the center. Amazing that Apple was able to fix this...I thought for sure it was a RAM problem.
     

Share This Page