iPhone IOS 5.0.1 to IOS6

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by eclipse01, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #1
    My IOS 5.0.1 is starting to be very buggy in the last month or so, so i guess i'm ok with updating and losing my jailbreak, I shouldn't run into any problems just updating through Itunes correct? Is there anything I should know before I update?
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    You have to restore, you cannot just simply click the update button

    You can restore from backup however after you're done restoring to iOS 6.1.3
     
  3. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #3
    Right, restore from Itunes is I guess what I meant. i'm guessing I will run into the tiny umbrella issue where Cydia is set to host.
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    Yes, change the hosts file so it no longer points to cydia
     
  5. PracticalMac macrumors 68030

    PracticalMac

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #5
    Point it where?

    And can you Restore to the current version of iOS, or are you forced to go latest? (never download the current version on iTunes)

    Thx
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    Apple..

    Depends what iOS you are now, what you want to restore to and if you have valid SHSH/blobs for those firmwares
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    It'll point to apple once you change your hosts file to not point to cydia
    Depending on what device you have and whether you have complete SHSH blobs, you may be able to restore to a version you want
    Otherwise, you have to restore to the latest version
     
  8. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #8
    So one more question, about tinyumbrella and hosts to Cydia.

    do you uncheck the option then close out or keep TU open while restoring? I mean how does Itunes know that it has been unchecked, or am I thinking about this all wrong?
     
  9. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #9
    Type gs.apple.com, if it leads to cydia, then you need to fix your hosts file

    I would manually just edit the hosts file using notepad but idk if there are easier alternatives

    You don't need tinyumbrella open to restore
     
  10. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #10
    i followed the instructions here http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1533718

    and it still points to Cydia when i go to gs.apple.com
     
  11. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #11
  12. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #12
    I edited the host file (per the thread I attached) and removed the two lines...then saved the host file and went to gs.apple.com and it still showed Cydia
     
  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    Did you reboot the computer after removing the lines that was about gs.apple.com from the hosts file?
     
  14. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #14
    sweet, think the reboot helped (comes up GCS Default web server now with an apple logo)

    Thanks!
     
  15. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #15
    So one more question then I will let this thread die.

    the restore, will just restore your latest backup and set it to stock correct?

    Then from there I will update to 6.1.3, or will it make me update to the latest in the process of restoring?
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    2 different things:
    - restore the firmware
    - restore the itunes saved backup (personal info settings, txt, pic, etc)

    restoring te firmware will return it to stock, wiping it clean.
    after that restore the itunes backup to get your info back

    6.1.3 is the latest….
     
  17. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #17
    Thank you!
     
  18. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #18
    Can you run Ilex rat restore and keep your jailbreak on 5.0.1?
     
  19. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #19
    I'm not really sure what that means, but i'm really ok with being back on stock. I am eager to try IOS 7 anyway in the upcoming months.

    also as time passes less and less apps are starting to be supported on 5.0 .1
     

Share This Page