iOS 5.1 beta

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by jdsipod, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. jdsipod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #1
    Hey guys, I have a developer account with apple and only have one iPhone and iPad and I keep seeing warnings to only run betas on devices that you want to run betas. My iPhone is my everyday phone but I really want to put 5.1 on it. Will anything really happen to it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    Why don't you go to developer.apple.com and sign in. Then go to the discussions and ask the other devs.
     
  3. jdsipod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #3
    I was going to do that too, just seeing if anyone on here had any opinions :cool:
     
  4. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #4
    You can go back to the general release if you have problems.
     
  5. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5
    Apple would be the one to ask and they say to use the beta only on a test device.
     
  6. jdsipod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #6
    Have you done that before?
     
  7. YMark macrumors 6502a

    YMark

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    What the hell does the above sentence mean? :confused:
     
  8. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #8
    Apple recommends you not run beta software on production devices, only development devices. Plenty of people do, you just need to be prepared to do a full restore if the device gets fubared from the beta.
     
  9. Arelunde macrumors 6502a

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    For a test device, can you do it as wifi only or does your device have to have 3G connection to be beta useful?
     
  10. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10
    Yeah. ITunes might not let you restore from a 5.1 backup when you go back to 5.0.1, but what I do is before updating to the beta I backup my 5.0.2 backup. I literally copy the folder to another place. Then when I want to go back to the general release I just restore from that backup. I might lose a few days of stuff but with iCloud syncing everything anyway it usually works out ok.
     
  11. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #11
    You can, but you can't use 5.1 backups to restore a 5.0.1 iPhone, so chances are you'll lose some of your texts, photos, etc.
     
  12. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #12
    You can backup photos to Photostream. Texts, yeah you lose them, but you'll probably know if a beta is problematic within a few days so it won't be that bad.
     
  13. jdsipod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #13
    Yea and losing texts really isn't an issue with me, i delete them all the time, and when i have conversations via text they never are really important
     
  14. wsc9005 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A406 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yes, just restore your phone thru iTunes.
     
  15. gwerhart0800 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    #15
    Betas expire sometimes ...

    In the past, when I have run beta IOS loads on my phone, I have run into issues where the beta "expires" and the phone becomes unusable until I load a new version of the beta or the final release. I have not done this for a while since I am not currently working on any IOS code. This was before the over-the-air update method was available, so it might not be an issue now, but it definitely was a few years ago.
     
  16. applephanatic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    Everywhere you aren't
    #16
    I ran iOS 5.1 on my iPhone 4s and iPad 2, I didn't really have any issues, other then the occasional fluky bug. I downgraded back to iOS 5.0.1 because of the Jailbreak, but if the jailbreak hadn't been released, I would of kept my iPhone and iPad running the beta.
     
  17. mms13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #17
    Betas don't expire until a while after subsequent betas are released. Not an issue as long as you keep up with the new betas. Like you said, used to be a pain...but now with OTA updates, its really not.
     

Share This Page