IOS 5.1 Impressions thread

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Risco, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    So what does everyone think? It will need a few days to see if any battery improvements, but other things should be noticiable.
     
  2. Zimmy68 macrumors 65816

    Zimmy68

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #2
    I'm still downloading on my 4S.
    Would love to see what they mean by AT&T network indicator.
    Does it mean that if I am in a HSPA+ area, I will know?
     
  3. fides7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #3
    Now shows "4G" in HSPA+ area ..
     
  4. dtbratt macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Grimsby, ON
    #4
    I'm curious about the AT&T indicator as well.

    Maybe someone can post a photo if it is changed?
     
  5. The Tos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo, New York
    #5
    So am I. I would like to see what actually changed.
     
  6. CrazyRussian540 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #6
    [​IMG]

    I'm currently in an HSPA+ area on AT&T running 5.1
     
  7. dtbratt macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Grimsby, ON
    #7
    I wish they would have done it for all carriers. I wouldn't mind it in Canada.
     
  8. stephen1108 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
  9. sk1wbw Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #9
    Anyone tried it on a first gen iPad? Hopefully it's smoother this time? 5.0.1 is very slow and choppy for me.
     
  10. Razeus macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #10
    Delete from Photostream ftw. Now I can enable it and not worry about 20 pics of self portraits that didn't work as planned. :cool:
     
  11. AntonisCy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #11
    can someone please confirm if there is a "disable 3G" but keep on data for the iphone 4S?
     
  12. CrazyRussian540 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #12
    No disable 3G option that I can find.
     
  13. Risco thread starter macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Yes!! It is under network settings.
     
  14. AlphaVictor87 macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #14
    Same here, can't find a 3G data toggle.

    However i am loving how much faster the camera opens from the lock screen now with the swipe up!!
     
  15. saritage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #15
    U gotta be kiddin :(

    Feature i was looking forward the most and now to discover this :(
     
  16. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #16
    I don't know which iOS do you have but I have just downloaded the 5.1 and the 3G switch button is there.
     
  17. CrazyRussian540 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #17
    I have 5.1 on AT&T, and all I have in my Network settings is Cellular Data (on/off), Data roaming (on/off), Personal Hotspot, VPN, and Wi-Fi.
     
  18. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #18
    Do you have an iPhone 4s?
     
  19. ohsnap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
  20. stevenc64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
  21. crispyking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
  22. stevenc64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #22
    That is where I looked.
    Not there on my phone.
    Are you on AT&T?
     
  23. Jony Mac macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #23
    iOS 5.1 gives the ability to delete from PhotoStream. Here is the initial impression I found.

    I dont think it deletes photos from PhotoStream as a whole, only the PhotoStream that is for that device.

    Example: I deleted a photo from my iPad's PhotoStream. It specifically said this photo will only delete from my photostream on my iPad.

    I opened my iPhone and confirmed it. Did another test deleting one photo from my iPhone's PhotoStream. Same message popped up stating this would only delete the photo from the Photostream on this iPhone.

    So I'm assuming you'll have to manually delete the unwanted photos each time on every device.
     
  24. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #24
    Do you have a 4s? No? Then please read the thread.
     
  25. Nikefn2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #25
    I'm with AT&T too and I don't have the 3G toggle switch. I'm rather disappointed by that too. I have 4S by the way.
     

Share This Page