iOS 5 downgrade on Verizon

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheSandman2236, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. TheSandman2236 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    I was curious if anyone has successfully done this, I keep trying to go back to 4.2.8 and get the 1603 error -- I then have to restore back to iOS 5. Any recommendations?

    Thanks!
    Chris:apple:
     
  2. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #2
    i did it fine. i actually just option-restored it via my custom jb ipsw.
     
  3. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Are you on a mac or pc, and which version of iTunes did you use to restore?

    Thanks!
     
  4. pman219 macrumors 6502a

    pman219

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    I did it quite easily using iTunes 10.3.
    I believe you can't do it with 10.5
    and I am on a PC running vista business
     
  5. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #5
    I was able to do it on 10.5 i just fine infact i just pluged in my iphone and hit the restore in itunes when it restored it had 4.2.8 back on it.
     
  6. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    I keep getting the 1603 error when restoring, anyone have any suggestions?
     
  7. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Putting it into DFU Restore mode instead of DFU worked (the white screen instead of the plug into itunes icon). Just in case anyone has that issue in the future.
     
  8. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #8
    mac, 10.5??
     
  9. heavensblade23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #9
    I successfully downgraded 5.0 beta 2 to 4.2.8 using DFU mode, but I had all kinds of error messages and hanging until I discovered I wasn't actually in DFU mode, just regular recovery mode. I used iTunes 10.3 FWIW.

    If you screen has 'connect to iTunes' on it you're in the wrong recovery mode. Furthermore, I don't think you can successfully get to DFU mode when it has that screen so you'll have to kick yourself out of recovery and start over.
     

Share This Page