iOS 5 Kills Cellular Data.

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by ChocoMan, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. ChocoMan, Oct 17, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011

    ChocoMan macrumors member

    ChocoMan

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Berlin
    #1
    Seems there's a growing number of complaints on the APPLE Forum that iOS5 upgrading kills the cellular data account functionality.

    Same Issue with me. Bought AT&T IPad2 in US - Now 3G Data won't work here in Europe after iOS5 upgrade.

    Same messages, Hangs on trying to set up "Cellular Data Account"

    not nice. at all.

    Anyone out there have some solutions? Resetting networks did not work.



    here's a search to show the number of people complaining...

    http://www.google.com/search?client...r+able+to+get+cellular+data&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
     
  2. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
  3. ChocoMan thread starter macrumors member

    ChocoMan

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Berlin
    #3
    Restore did not work. Not jailbroken.
     
  4. Young Spade macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Florida
    #4
    You do know that a google search of a query is by no means accurate in telling you a number right?
     
  5. ChocoMan thread starter macrumors member

    ChocoMan

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Berlin
    #5
    actually I do... having been educated and having a science degree... I DO understand statistics... but I'm also capable of seeing a trend.... Probably more significant than absolute numbers... but who cares???...

    it doesn't remove a real life problem... so why are you asking? doesn't help...
     
  6. ChocoMan thread starter macrumors member

    ChocoMan

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Berlin
    #6
    Solution!!!

    I finally figured out that for some reason iOS 5 send the APN info differently and now I need to change the APN Info to the parent company's info and not the sub provider's info that I am signed up with.

    Hope this solves other peoples problems...

    and hope apple fixes the "bug"
     
  7. Malice604 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #7
    The source of the problem is in the backup, which is why a partial recovery appears to be the only way to do the job. A fresh iOS5 install will run 3G like a charm... recover your backup and blamo, it's gone.

    I have been hammering away at this since the update came out, and I am down to trying to find out how to cross reference the serial-numbered files in the iTunes backup folder with the files that are extracted when running something like Padraig's iPhone data extractor. Maybe there's a thread on the forum with this information that someone may point me to?

    What is the APN change that was made? I'm using Bell in Canada, and the APN is pda2.bell.ca before and after an iOS upgrade, from what I see. In talking with Bell, they told me to keep username and password blank.

    If there's another way to recovery app preferences without bringing in the whole profile, I'd love to hear it!
     
  8. Malice604 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #8
    All righty now.. I spent the morning going through the the process of recovering my "lost" app profiles and documents from my "3G killing" profile, and everything now works like a charm!

    Sync your bookmarks, contacts, etc. to your computer... how did you lose them in the first place?

    Anyhow, let's fix the 3G...

    http://www.sibbet.com/index.php/2011/10/26/how-to-fix-3g-on-your-ios5-ipad-or-iphone/

    Please let me know if I need to make any corrections.

    I assume NOT responsibility or liability for your data! Do this at your own risk. That said, it's not really risky if you have your backup safe.
     

Share This Page