iOS 5 + T-mobile on Factory unlocked iPhone 4?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jmchicago, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. jmchicago macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #1
    I have a factory unlocked iPhone 4 and wanted to make sure I wouldn't lose my T-mobile service when updating my iOS later today..

    I heard there were issues with T-mobile reception on earlier betas..

    anyone running T-mobile on the GM?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. drewdrewdrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #2
    i have an iphone 3gs and i just updated to IOS5 (jailbreak) running T-Mobile.

    i'm having some network issues which kinda sucks. Also can't receive MMS either. I tried entering the apn settings and hack from cydia but no luck.

    Let me know if you do it and how it goes. I'm thinking about rolling back to 4 because of the issues!
     
  3. drewdrewdrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #3
    ssh and changed the com.apple.mms_override.plist seems to have worked now.
     
  4. jackblack313 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    I'm having a problem where every time i pick my phone (3gs) up my signal goes out i also had the text message problem to i had to delete almost all my messages to begin receiving them again I'm kind of pissed i updated to iOS 5 and jail broke my phone cause now I'm having this signal issue when i never had it before I'm using tmobile on my 3gs and before i updated i would have full signal bars now i get 1 or 2 then it just goes away when i pick up my phone or I'm in a house does anyone else have these issues if so let me know
     
  5. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #5
    I updated an oldboot rom 3GS to IOS5 and unlocked with Ultrasn0w and using T-Mobile.

    I have no problems other than an inability to use Ibooks.
     
  6. mc4nam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #6
    I have an jailbroken and unlocked 3gs on Tmobile. It is still running 3.1.2. Works fine but I would like ios 5. What do I need to do? Keep in mind I had someone else update this one for me so I have no idea how?

    I am grandfathered in with the $5.99 Tzones also. I don't want to lose that either.

    Anyone help or should I take my phone to a professional?

    Thanks
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    If you dont know what you're doing I wouldnt attempt anything cause you could lose your unlockable baseband.
     
  8. mc4nam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #8
    I completely agree! Does anyone know a quality source to do this for me in the North Dallas area?
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Check out your local craigslist, you should find plenty of people that can do it for a small fee.
     
  10. mc4nam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #10
    I have called 2 places that actually have store fronts and they say they cannot upgrade a 3gs, keep it unlocked and jail-broken, to the latest software to do ios5? The latest software they offer is 4.1.X?
     
  11. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #11
    You can unlock if the baseband is preserved, which I doubt since it would have to be an early production iPhone 4 with the baseband preserved through all the updates.

    OR.

    If it hasn't been upgraded to 5.X at all yet, you can preserve the 4.X baseband and upgrade to 5.X and use the gevey Sim.
     
  12. mc4nam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #12
    The phone is a 3gs. it has 3.1.2 and 05.11.07. I thought the guy that jailbroke and unlocked last time said the baseband was saved in Cydia? Does that even make sense?
     
  13. kvizzel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #13
    SHSH Blobs are saved in Cydia, so you can downgrade.
    To preserve a baseband you need to make your own custom firmware.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    If its the old boot rom u can go to 5.0 untethered and unlocked. If u got the new bootrom go up to 4.3.3
    Assuming u have shsh blobs for that version.
     
  15. mc4nam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #15
    Thanks for the information. How can I tell if I have the old bootrom or not? I definitely do not want a tethered unlock/jailbreak.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Run idetector.
     

Share This Page