iOS 5 will not update my iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by jdminpdx, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. jdminpdx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #1
    I hope someone can help me. I am about to go insane. I have litereally spent almost 3 hours on this. I am trying to get my iPad 2 on iOS 5. My UDID is registered and everything is good on that end. When I try to restore, I am met with one of 2 messages and it seems to change depending on what kind of work around I try. First is this message:

    "The iPad "So and so's iPad" could not be restored. This device isn't eligible for the requested build"

    I get this message whether I put my iPad into DFU mode first or whether I just go the option-click route.

    It was suggested that I change a host file so I did that and sometimes I am met with the above message, or other times I am met with this:

    "The iPhone "so and so's iPad" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1)"

    If you look at that second message it calls my iPad an iPhone? WTF?

    I have completely uninstalled and resinstalled iTunes and still keep running into this problem. Can someone help me! It would be greatly appreciated. :confused::(
     
  2. jdminpdx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #2
    I should mention that I DO have the 10.5 beta of iTunes in use.
     
  3. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #3
    Go into tiny umbrella and uncheck the box for updating the hosts file. May be another checkbox too, need clean path to Apple
     
  4. jdminpdx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #4
    Under advanced, I have these options:

    Save ALL Available SHS CHECKED

    Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit (If you need a clean restore from Apple uncheck this box) UNCHECKED

    Request SHSH From Cydia CHECKED

    Overwrite exisiting SHSH files on "Save SHSH" CHECKED

    When connecting a device, prefer my custom name over the name set on the device UNCHECKED

    It was suggested to me to uncheck the Set Hots box but so far its still a no go.

    And thank you for replying.
     
  5. Shawnpk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Are you using the "Check for Update" button or the "Restore" button? At first I was using the check for update button, which wouldn't work.
     
  6. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    You have to # out the apple host file in terminal. Look on stealth bravos twitter page he posted a walk thru
     
  7. jdminpdx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #7
    I looked at his twitter and cant see a reference to what your talking about.
     
  8. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    UNcheck that one. If I remember correctly, it was the key when I had the same problem. (I was away from my mac last night so couldn't check my TinyUmbrella settings 'til now)
     
  9. 3goldens macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
  10. jdminpdx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
  11. JackDoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #12
    I found that going onto tiny umbrella, then hitting advanced and unchecking "change host file on exit" bla bla
    This worked instantly for me :D
     
  12. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #13
    I am getting error 3002 when trying to update. I do not have tiny umbrella installed. My iPad 2 is registered as a development device. Of course I am using iTunes 10.5. Any ideas?
     
  13. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #14
    Check this thread for thoughts/ideas related to restore vs upgrade and ensuring the hosts file isn't redirecting away from Apple

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1164889
     
  14. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #15
    Thanks for that. My hosts file is ok. I found out that only a restore and then a restore from backup is possible. At the moment I do not want to go that route, so I will wait for the next beta.
     
  15. shadowbird423 macrumors regular

    shadowbird423

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chapel Hill
    #16
    Sigh.

    To the op:
    I saw your post in the Apple Developers forum (I'm having the same problem) and was disappointed by the way they treated you. They represent the stuck stereotype that most people apply to Mac users.

    And to everyone else, thanks for the links, I'll try it out now.
     

Share This Page