iOS 6.1 - Accessory Connected message in car

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by piecloud, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. piecloud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #1
    After the 6.1 update, I don't get the stupid "Accessory Connected" message in music app, when I connect to my car ipod cable. Now I'm able to play all my itunes match music and select music from iPhone. I'm surprised and wondering if it's a bug. It wasn't listed in the release notes.
     
  2. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #2
    Same here! I updated my iPhone 4S this morning, and when I connected it to my Alpine headunit, I saw that I can now control the Music app. A welcome surprise. Nice one, Apple. :cool:
     
  3. Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #3
    Maybe it's a ninja-fix?

    Apple's release notes often mention "and numerous other bug fixes" but they don't really specify what bugs/problems they fixed.
     
  4. Jims73z macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
  5. jwilson25 macrumors regular

    jwilson25

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #5
    I hadn't tried this yet, but it would be very welcome indeed, especially on my wife's Outback where it's scrolling through a long list by a tuning knob.
     
  6. photogpab macrumors 6502

    photogpab

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #6
    i noticed this too, and thank god. not only because i can not control my music through the phone, but my entire itunes match library also displays on the car dashboard. before it used to only be whatever music was downloaded to the phone.

    thrilled!
     
  7. minik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #7
    I agree, it works beautifully with iTunes Music now.
     
  8. kwyn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #9
    This was the only reason I jailbroke because of that annoying splash screen. I used noaccsplash. Well I jailbroke 6.1 before I found out that it officially fixed this. I prob wouldn't have even jailbroke had I known.

    Awesome fix though!!
     
  9. gigapower macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #10
    Anyone else experiencing issues with the right song being displayed on the car head unit? I cannot reliably use the head unit to skip songs even. This is with the music app, spotify, and pandora apps.
     
  10. vastoholic macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #11
    I posted this in the 6.1 updates thread. I was so glad for this fix. As for the above poster, I think I did see that a few times, but not anymore. I can still use my head unit to skip tracks and browse through the music like before.
     
  11. Piplodocus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #12
    I noticed this today too! Sooooooo welcome. I have iTunes Match and unlimited phone data so it was a right PITA scrolling my entire 2 continuous months of music collection through the alpine head unit wheel while trying to drive. I can now search by typing a few letters! And get artwork all the time. Win.

    ----------

    Nope, afraid not. It now works great and both devices updates whether I change from the head unit or the iPhone 5 (via the apple lightning to 30-pin adapter/audio D to A converter)
     
  12. Introns65 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    #13
    I, unfortunately am having tons of problems with the new ios and plugging it into my Sony Stereo.. When I try to advance songs on either my iPhone, or the stereo the songs glitch and then it keeps reverting to the song that is the first one from the song list. Very annoying...

    Also, when I select a song through the iPhone. It will freeze and not play anything, then revert back to the first song on the song list in 'A.'

    Seems like a nice thing to have, but they honestly did not test this well enough. I had no problem with the accessory screen. I'd honestly rather have that back now.

    Anyone know how to revert to an older iOS version until they get these bugs figured out?
     

Share This Page