iOS 6 4-inch Update for Apps???

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by STiNG Operation, Oct 4, 2012.

1. STiNG Operation, Oct 4, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2012

STiNG Operation macrumors 6502a

STiNG Operation

I have no knowledge of how hard/easy it is to make an app compatible with the new iPhone 5's screen.

How hard is it for games versus/ social media apps? Time frame for each?

Almost 2 weeks after the launch of the new phone and most of the apps I use regularly are still letter boxed :(

Anyone think that games/apps are going to see the 4-inch upgrade anytime soon or is it just not a priority for developers?

2. hawk1410 macrumors 6502

yeah, this is really irritating. It seems to me devs were much faster when the iPhone 4 came out, i remember most of the major apps had been updated withing the first few weeks.

3. Chundles macrumors G4

Chundles

Most of mine are updated.

Facebook
    Tweetbot
    Reeder
    Flipboard
    OzTV
    WeatherAu
    TripView
    Instapaper
    Kindle
    Metro view Australia

I was surprised how quickly they were updated.

The games are still letter boxed which makes sense, you can't just do an update - the larger screen changes the whole layout. Most games will need their UI re-done.

4. STiNG Operation thread starter macrumors 6502a

STiNG Operation

That makes sense, I figured it's a process to change the aspects of a game...Although the only app I have from your list is Facebook haha.

5. brettizzle macrumors member

I can see many of the new/big title apps being updated to take advantage of the larger screen. Soon enough just about all new apps going into the app store will have that ability. Be patient ;)

6. nepalisherpa macrumors 68020

nepalisherpa

People need to be patient. It is a difficult task to update for 4-inch screen especially if the apps are graphic intesive. You have to come up with new sets of graphics. That takes time. Developers will eventually update them or they will lose to their competitors.