iOS 6 Future Update Question

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Buddygor, Jun 13, 2012.

1. Buddygor macrumors regular

Hey MacRumors!

So, I'm not a developer, but i simply updated to iOS 6 in iTunes (worked perfectly, perfectly legal :cool:). I am just wondering, since you have to update it in iTunes at first 5-to-6 upgrade so it doesn't activate and realize it isn't a registered developer device, will I be able to update to future betas from the Settings app? Or will it check if it's a registered device? I have tried it, it simply says "iOS 6 up to date", so I'm assuming it checks fine. Just to simplify my extensive rant :eek:, Can I update in the Settings app, on a un-developer registered iOS 6 device? Thanks! (Also, not to be mean, but I've heard enough of "Well, I don't know, but probably not", so please answer only if you actually know).

All respect,
    Noah
    :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:

2. yaddam205 macrumors member

Yes, If you have a registered device.

Delta updates were available OTA with the iOS 5 BETA so this should be no different.

3. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

Some of the updates in the iOS5 betas were OTA and some required iTunes.
    Most required iTunes if I remember.
    And almost all of the ones that required iTunes required betas of iTunes.
    Pretty much every new iOS beta had a corresponding iTunes beta.
    The process for iOS6 might be done entirely OTA but I highly doubt it.
    No one can tell you for sure what will happen because no one can tell for sure what Apple's going to do.

4. Buddygor thread starter macrumors regular

Umm...

You don't understand. I DON'T have a registered device, so I was wondering if it will still update. Thanks!

Noah
    :apple::apple::apple:

5. Gjwilly, Jun 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

Gjwilly macrumors 68030

I do understand and that's why I said that no one can tell you.