IOS 6 update...I know...I'm stupid

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by volntitan, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. volntitan, Sep 19, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

    volntitan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #1
    So like an idiot when my iPhone presented me with the update on my phone, I hit update. Problem is...I'm at work and now it is asking me to plug it into iTunes. I don't know why but I was under the impression that you could update your phone without a computer by just doing it over air. So is my phone a brick until I get home and hook it up to my mac or can I just hook it up to any computer here with iTunes?
     
  2. volntitan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
  3. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #3
    Ios update should be available with ios5 upwards with a wifi connection due to data charges.
     
  4. TJ61 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #4
    Do you have iCloud backup turned off? If so, maybe it's asking for iTunes so it can do a backup before updating. Or perhaps your wifi connection was interrupted?

    Regards,
    Tom
     
  5. volntitan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #5
    Well I didn't the update and I have iOS 5 but now after all that, all it gives me is the symbol to connect to iTunes when I connect it to power. When it isn't connected, it won't turn on. Should I connect it to a computer with iTunes just to see if that jump starts it?

    ----------

    I can't remember to be honest if I had turned off iCloud or not. I bet that is it.
     
  6. zim2411 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    #6
    I had this too, and had iCloud turned on. My only option seemed to be to factory restore from iTunes, then restore from iCloud. My apps are downloading now, and I will have to fix my photos and music too. :mad:
     
  7. volntitan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005

Share This Page