iOS 6b1 - Siri doesn't sound right!

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by chrf097, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. chrf097, Jun 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012

    chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #1
    After rereading this (and being pointed out by users), I may have been somewhat dramatic. I'm not trying to whine, just trying to point out a problem that we can all only hope gets fixed.


    I know iOS 6 is just in a beta, but I'm sure Apple could really have done a better job on this. iOS 6 has ruined Siri/VoiceOver and Voice Control. It's automatically set the voice to the nasty robotic ugly low quality Samantha voice, rather than the High Quality nice Samantha Voice we've come to know and love (along with seeing in all the demos).

    Here is a comparision between the terrible robotic voice (On an iPhone 4S running iOS 6) and what the voice SHOULD be sounding like (as shown on Siri/VoiceOver in iOS 5 & All demos of Siri by Apple, running on an iPhone 4 with iOS 5):




    This option is MISSING from iOS 6 (iOS 6 on the left, iOS 5 on the right):

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    So what do we do? What can we do? Has anyone been able to come up with a solution? Any iOS 6 Beta users, what have you done to be successful in fixing this problem, or is this just a bug that only Apple can sort out?
     
  2. maestroskillz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #2
    It might be a bug. I have the same problem on the 3rd gen iPad.
     
  3. unobtainium macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #3
    It's not a bug, it's just a beta. It's intended to let developers test their apps. Frills like a smoother Siri voice are unnecessary in beta 1 and probably the last thing Apple would be spending their time on.

    If you want a polished OS, don't use a beta!
     
  4. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #4
    It's a Beta

    Not only will change happen...count on it. I don't see any reason why Apple should be focused on the voice quality for the Beta at this point. The more important part is the latent semantic mapping improvements on the back end. Higher quality voice in theory should be a flip of a switch.
     
  5. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #5
  6. petsounds macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #6
    If you find Siri lacking in iOS6 beta 1, then file a bug report on the developer site which you signed up for in order to gain access to the beta. You did sign up in order to beta test, and not just whine on macrumors, right? Apple engineers do not read macrumors all day; file a bug.
     
  7. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
  8. Redjericho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #8
    Wait wait wait, Siri on iPhone 4? Sounds like you are using a jailbroken version of Siri, and as you may know, they do not connect directly to apple's servers, rather an API that mimics Siri to the best of its ability. They have to remake the voice as close as they can, and the chance that they would get it dead-on apple's pitch is near impossible.

    You are basically comparing a $20 Rolex to a $2000 Rolex, get a second iPhone 4S on iOS 5.1.1 and compare them then for an experiment with less variables.
     
  9. virginblue4 macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    I'm running 5.1.1 and the voice of my Siri has also recently changed to a very low quality voice.
     
  10. chrf097 thread starter macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #10
    I'm not asking for a polished beta, I was simply pointing out the fact that Siri has some issues (albeit a serious one) and also asking if someone else had found the same issue.

    I did actually, thank you for asking. I can still come here and report my findings because as we both know a lot of people just download the beta willy-nilly.

    I'm not using Siri on the iPhone 4, I was using Voice Control found on ALL iPhones since the 3GS. I was giving an example of what the voice should be sounding like. I'm not going to go buy another iPhone 4S or hunt people down and borrow it when the same voice can be found on an older feature.
     
  11. kre62 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #11
    This happens all the time, even on 5.x, especially on new installs. Tell SIRI to F off, or call her a b*tch, the next morning the full voice you are used to will be back. DOn't know why, but it's worked for me 4 times on 3 different phones.
     
  12. Futhark macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #12
    It'll be sorted in the final release. Guaranteed.
     
  13. iBreatheApple, Jun 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012

    iBreatheApple macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    As I've said a couple times, even creating my own spin-off thread... This isn't new to iOS 6. Many others experience the "bug" right out of the box.

    But check this interesting note I just found on apples site:

    "VoiceOver will use the compact voice until iOS has installed the full voice. If you would like to continue using the compact voice, go to Settings > General > Accessibility > VoiceOver > Use Compact Voice. This option is only available once the full voice has downloaded and installed."

    Perhaps iOS 6b1 does not have the full package installed?
     
  14. audix, Jul 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012

    audix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #14
    ^ The thing about that is that it doesn't actually change anything. Except for VoiceOver, but I'm talking about Siri and speech selection.

    It's so weird. I don't get it.
     
  15. pk7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #15
    This happened to me after I installed iOS 6 beta 2. The voice became low, iOS 4 voice command quality, but after a couple of hours, I had the crystal clear Siri voice back. It probably needs to 'adapt' or download something after a new OS install.
     

Share This Page