iOS 7.1 beta 5 WiFi issue

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by as11ley, Feb 11, 2014.

  1. as11ley, Feb 11, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014

    as11ley macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hey all,

    I am having an issue on iOS 7.1 bat 5 where my iPhone will connect to my WiFi network, however even though it is connected it will not load any sites up or anything to do with the internet. Is this a known bug with 7.1?
    Thanks
    Ashley
     
  2. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Ashley,

    Dumb question but do you have any other devices using Wifi? Does their Internet work?
     
  3. as11ley thread starter macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Both my iPhone and iPad that are on 7.1 beta 5 are having the issue, all other wireless device like laptops and my fathers Sony mobile are all working well.
    Maybe it is a bug, but it was fine yesterday :mad: (edit) if I toggle WiFi off then on again then it works for a few seconds then drops out again.
     
  4. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
    #4
    I wouldn't call it a dumb question my first impulse each time is to think it is the device I'm on as the internet at my house is so seldom off. It usually is a trip to the office, reboot the modem, reboot the router and across the house to reboot the repeater. Then I am embarrassed I blamed by iPad.
     
  5. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    You can try resetting network settings. just beware that also forgets Wifi passwords.
     
  6. as11ley thread starter macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Giving it a shot now, thanks for your help :)
     
  7. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Sometimes people get offended when I ask them the obvious thing they should have checked so I downplay it :cool:
     
  8. as11ley thread starter macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Well resetting network settings seems to have sorted it. Weird though that it happened on both my iPhone and my iPad at the same time, thanks for your help though!
     
  9. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    I'm glad. Just remember if your phone starts acting weird when it comes to signal, phone calls or Internet..resetting network usually fixes it.
     
  10. as11ley thread starter macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Sorry to be a pain, its stopped working again :mad:
     
  11. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
    #11
    You might try a reboot if you haven't already....

    And as far as a bug, we have had an unusually high number of people seeking help with NO wifi since 7.0 so if there is a bug it may be even deeper than 7.1 betas
     
  12. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    Go into the wifi connection and see if proxy is set to auto. if so, turn it off.
     
  13. as11ley thread starter macrumors 6502

    as11ley

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Done a hard reset and still has the issue, it is weird that both my iPad and iPhone are having the same issue though.. maybe I should resort back to 7.0.4
    But it is so buggy on iPad :mad:

    ----------

    Wait.. its working again, maybe my router is going funny.
     
  14. sbailey4 macrumors 68030

    sbailey4

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Yeah was about to say reboot your router or default it and restore your backup to it. (the router that is) With both devices having issues I would expect the router may be the culprit
     
  15. Coupz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    #15
    .) you could try to restart your router
    .) maybe you have too many wifi devices so your router doesn't have enough dhcp addresses left? I have configured my router to only give 5 dhcp addresses if my friends come to visit me and all my devices have fixed ips
     
  16. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    Are you using the same Apple ID/account information on both devices (perhaps it's related to iCloud Keychain somehow then)?
     

Share This Page