iOS 7.1 beta - battery?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by virginblue4, Dec 30, 2013.

1. virginblue4 macrumors 68000

virginblue4

I'm a registered developer however I do not actually develop apps. I went through every beta of iOS 7 right up until the GM on my iPhone 5 & iPad mini.

I'm going to install iOS 7.1 onto my 5S in a minute, I'm just going to ask a really naive question, obviously I know betas can be unpredictable, say if it causes terrible battery life on my 5S, if I restore back to 7.0.4, there isn't a chance of any damage to the battery at all is there? As in at a hardware level.

Just typing it out make me realise how ridiculous I sound! I can deal with beta bugs but as long as I know it's safe to go ahead, I will install it.

Thanks for your help :)

2. Armen macrumors 604

Armen

iOS won't damage your battery. I went to 7.1 Beta 2 a week ago and I'm back on 7.0.4.

3. virginblue4 thread starter macrumors 68000

virginblue4

Any particular reason you went back?

4. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

I have 7.1b2 on my 5S and I will not ever go back to 7.0.4. I LOVE IT. Great battery, a lot more stable, hasn't crashed once.

5. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

aDRock1154

I'm gonna chime in, as well. I didn't have many issues with 7.0.4, but 7.1 seems much better. I'd only go back if my battery life was suffering, but it seems pretty good (for a beta).

6. virginblue4 thread starter macrumors 68000

virginblue4

I have now updated both my iPhone 5s and my iPad mini, and wow, the speed improvements are huge! Hopefully battery life is good as well :)

7. PNutts macrumors 601

PNutts

Poor battery life is typically caused by restoring a backup onto the device or an application issue. The beta itself shouldn't cause a problem.