Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

d-emolat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2014
Hey guys, I've got an iPod Touch these days and been updating to iOS 7.1

Now the control center seems laggy, battery is dying fast (4 - 5 hours of listening to music with display off most of the time), it heats up on the top of the back,...

But in standby, when I'm not even touching it, it runs on 100% of battery about 24 hours.

Yesterday I tried a clean reinstall 2 times and still the same problem :/
Is iOS 7.1 using so much RAM on the iPod? It seems like running out of storage everytime.
Did a clean install yesterday and 'other' is taking up about 3gig again
And RAM usage when coming from standby is ~200mb free?!

Is it normal for an iPod Touch?

I've never had one before and I didn't use it on iOS 6 so I don't know, well.. I'm a newbie on iPod Touch. :D

bpranav99

macrumors newbie
Mar 14, 2014
An easy fix for the lagginess is:

1. Go to the settings app
2. Tap general
3. Tap accessibility
4. Tap increase contrast
5. Turn on 'Reduce Transparency'

What this does is it reduces the transparence and blur effects from iOS. This might look slightly bad but your iPod will run like when it was new.

Cheers!!
Posted from my iPod touch 5G

----------

Also, the bar in which 'other' shows is your storage bar. It shows how many GB of storage you have left. This won't increase unless you add new apps, take new photos or videos, etc. this in completely independent of your RAM.

A tip I found for improving battery life is if you have done an OTA (over the air) update to iOS 7.1, then restore it via iTunes. Another thing you could do is reduce the brightness to about a third. It takes some getting used to, but it isn't so bad. Also, you can turn off push mail service as it drains a lot of battery.

Hope this helps...
Cheers!!
Posted from my iPod touch 5G

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra