iPod touch iOS 7 beta 4 low RAM? + Safari bug

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by stiligFox, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. stiligFox macrumors 6502a

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #1
    I was curious if anyone else has experienced this a issue with RAM from beta 4. I'm finding that multitasking is killing (more often than not) all the apps besides my current one. It seems most the time it's after I use Safari... Maybe Safari is leaking memory?

    Also, not sure if this is just me as well, but I'm noticing a strange lag when scrolling freshly loaded pages in Safari -- it lags for a second and then instead of scrolling, it selects the closest link where my finger was. It gets annoying because this combined with the low RAM means when I scroll back it tends to refresh that page back to the top of the page.

    Anyone else? I did a OTA update, so that might be it as well.
     
  2. Benlego65, Jul 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2013

    Benlego65 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #2
    I'm getting this, too. However, I have the beta installed on 2 devices. An iphone 4 and an ipad mini, both of course at beta 4.
    The mini is handling safari flawlessly. No memory leak present that I notice.
    On my iphone however, I get that same memory leak. When I check how much ram is free (using another app) it shows just 12mB or so free (with Safari open).
    I think it may be how Safari caches the we page with its image for quickly switching tabs; the iphone/iPod devices cache an image and iPas has no need to. Something about THAT must be doing it.
    I can on,to ix the leak on my phone with a reboot, which can get annoying. Luckily there are other usable browsers to install such as chrome :D

    Also, both devices were an OTA update from B3.
    I doubt it's the fact that it's an OTA update. Could someone who updated through iTunes pitch in?
     
  3. rulorulez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #3
    I'm on a 4S and some apps sometimes kind of slow down... it must be the same RAM problem, also I'm having a lag on the touch controls... =/
     

Share This Page