iOS 7 GM Data Usage?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by chumps52, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. chumps52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I updated from Beta 6 to the GM and restored as a new phone.
    Since then data has been being used, I can tell from the status bar click wheel thing... It's a system thing, but never happened before. Although it's not much being used; it's just annoying.
    Sorry for the bad explanation, can anyone help? (Image attached)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. adamgbiggs macrumors regular

    adamgbiggs

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Same here, I've just been out for lunch (an hour) and had 4 twitter notifications and in the mobile usage it's saying I've used it for all sorts of stuff, some stuff I don't understand why it's there, like homescreen? Why does that need to use mobile data? Settings? I'd understand if I'm using iCloud to backup but I'm not.

    Adam.
     
  3. chumps52 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #3

    Yeah, I reset my network usage statistiscs in the "Mobile" settings, and the "system services" is the only thing using the network constantly, and this is what it shows.... I'm just paranoid that it's draining my battery etc., even though it's ok KB's of data; it's constantly downloading/uploading
     
  4. chumps52 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Does anyone have any idea how to solve this? My main annoyance is the little spinning wheel on the status bar, as can be seen in that screenshot. It is constantly there, and never was before.

    Battery life seems to be ok though, if anything it's better than Beta 6.

    I just want to get rid of this spinning wheel in the top left.
     
  5. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    What happens if you turn off background refresh? Does the pinwheel (the spinning wheel) go away?
     
  6. chumps52 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #6
    No difference :/ It was off already
     
  7. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    You're not loading an iCloud backup, are you?
     
  8. chumps52 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #8
    My restore process was shift-click update, browse to GM, and load. All my stuff was kept on.
    I immediately went to settings, and "Reset all settings". This is when I noticed the problem.
     
  9. Nolander07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #9
    I think the system services always used a little data, we were just not able to monitor it before.
     
  10. chumps52 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #10
    That's fine by me, it's just my kinda OCD thing is going crazy at the little spinning wheel that won't go away
     
  11. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    Have you tried a hard reset with your phone? Hold home button and power button together, the screen will turn off and keep holding until you see the Apple logo.

    My guess it's there some rogue process that was kicked off when you reset all settings. Give that try.
     
  12. chumps52 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Been using it for 2 mins and it seems to have worked! Thanks! :) Can't believe I didn't think of that before ;)
     
  13. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    No problem, glad it seems to be fixed.
     

Share This Page