General iOS 7 mysteriously reappeared on Apple's website

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by honam1021, Oct 9, 2014.

  1. honam1021, Oct 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 9, 2014

    honam1021 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #1
    I just went onto Apple's website on my Android phone and I saw this:
    [​IMG]
    At first I thought it's my phone's cache causing the problem, and the same happened with another computer
    [​IMG]

    Not sure if this is an isolated issue just for me, but I can't believe Apple could make mistakes like this.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    What URL did you go to?
     
  3. honam1021 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #3
    http://www.apple.com/ios/

    I guess they accidentally rolled back the entire page when updating it for iOS 8.1
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    I get the same thing. Must be an oops moment on someone's part!
    Capture.PNG
     
  5. medlee macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
  6. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Well, it works well for me, since I'm still on iOS 7! :D
     
  8. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #8
    The whole front page is wrong for the UK.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    Perhaps things were temporarily getting redirected to some server that wasn't updated for a little while for some reason. Or some maintenance was happening that caused a caching glitch or something else of that sort temporarily.
     
  10. honam1021 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #10
    I checked the URL again and it seems it's back to normal now

    ----------

    I bet they were taking down their primary servers to update the website ahead of the October 16th keynote, and push the changes to the public as Cook announce the new iPads, but they didn't notice some of the backup servers are out of sync before taking them offline.
     
  11. niji macrumors 6502a

    niji

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    tokyo
    #11
    yes.
    it was really strange.
    the entire home page was actually a cached home page from about 1 month ago for all links common between then and now.
    but the menu bar at the top of the home page itself was not a cached image.
    because Watch was there.
    when Watch link was clicked it went to a page without graphics.
    this occurred over about a 20 minute timeframe.
    I'm surprised more people didn't comment.
    i thought that maybe certain relay servers were only serving up very old cached images rather than the newest updated pages.
    a guy in india was actually first to notice and comment on it.
     

Share This Page