iOS 8 + 5S + Spotify - Runs Once

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by AbSoluTc, Jul 22, 2014.

  1. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #1
    Anyone else have this issue? If I delete Spotify and re-download, it will run once and then when I relaunch it, it crashes every time. This has been happening since B2. I'm guessing it's just Spotify needs to update their app?
     
  2. HarryT macrumors 6502

    HarryT

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #2
    They won't update it until later iOS 8 betas or public release. Think about it it's a beta and they are still testing iOS 8 themselves.
     
  3. BrettDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    I definitely do not have that problem. I have a 5S and I've been using iOS 8 since 6/2 when beta 1 was available. I don't use spotify terribly often... maybe once a week or so, but I've had no problems with it when I do use it. I hadn't tried with beta 4, but I just opened it and started playing a song, then I stopped the song and force closed spotify and I was able to open it again and play another song.

    For what it's worth, I don't have a premium account... I just use it for the free radio function. It's possible that it's a problem with their paid service.
     
  4. dof250 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
  5. AbSoluTc thread starter macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #5
    Interesting that others don't have any issues. Yes, I'm aware that it's a Beta and things may not work. I was just wondering how widespread it might be.
     
  6. VolceOntra macrumors 6502

    VolceOntra

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #6
    There are some problems with third party music player apps.

    Try force closing the app and trying it again.

    It's really an annoying bug (or maybe an API change).
     
  7. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #7
    Spotify is fine on the rMini.

    Every iOS beta breaks music players in the weirdest way. iOS 6 totaled Pandora for me (but then again Pandora is already an awful app).
     
  8. parisi2274 macrumors member

    parisi2274

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #8
    I am on a 5S, AT&T, using iOS8 Beta 4 and I have had no issues with Spotify. Every time I launch it, it works just fine.
     
  9. AbSoluTc thread starter macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #9
    Same setup here. Spotify runs once and then no more. I have to delete the app and re-install only to be able to run it once. Very strange. I was hoping B3/4 would fix it but nope.
     
  10. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #10
    Very true. iOS 7 betas had spotify music quality really really low.
     
  11. TKOinLA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    I have a premium Spotify account and used to run Spotify for hours on iOS7.

    On iOS8 v3 and v4 the battery burns up very fast and the phone heats up like a hot iron.
     
  12. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #12
    Exact same setup and no issues. I use Spotify daily on my drive to work and my drive from work. I've experienced no crashing so far. (It's also a premium account which I login using FB credentials, in case the login session is the issue)
     
  13. AbSoluTc thread starter macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #13
    Interesting. It really sucks it stops working. The only difference is I am not using a fb login.
     
  14. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #14
    Did you setup your phone as new or update from a previous beta? I seem to have FAR FAR fewer issues when I set up my phone as new and do not upgrade or restore from a backup.
     
  15. AbSoluTc thread starter macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #15
    Restore. Have never done new. I would lose all my messages.
     
  16. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #16
    Might be part of your issue then. You should always setup beta as new.
     
  17. kryptonkid07 macrumors regular

    kryptonkid07

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    I have a few issues with Spotify when I'm switching songs or trying to look at other playlists while music is playing.

    I had a problem with Spotify during the iOS 7 beta and the work around was to download 'Spotify for iOS 4' on the App Store. It's a very basic Spotify player, but I haven't tested it for iOS 8. If it messes up on me a few more times I'll have to resort to that instead.
     
  18. AbSoluTc thread starter macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #18
    Just updated to the new beta. Spotify still acting up. Won't run but once. :(
     
  19. vra24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #19
    I'm using a 5 and have had no problems with crashing. Worked fine on beta 1&2 but then started getting really hot and draining the battery. Today's update fixed the heat/battery drain. The only other problem I have is when I'm in the Now Playing screen if I go into the menu to add the song to a playlist or star it when it goes back to the album art there are no other buttons. It's just the album art.
     
  20. kryptonkid07 macrumors regular

    kryptonkid07

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #20
    I've had this problem since beta 4. I haven't tried it on beta 5.
     
  21. Switchback666 macrumors 68000

    Switchback666

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    SXM
    #21
    I have the same problem sometimes since beta 1, after beta updates i know 100% i have to delete and download the spotify app again in order to use it and if spotify updates the app its the same for me :) your not alone.
     
  22. AbSoluTc thread starter macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #22
    Phew - good to know! The suggestions so far have been to setup as new. Not doing that.
     
  23. Switchback666 macrumors 68000

    Switchback666

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    SXM
    #23

    Exactly, it doesn't bother me that much to setup as new, either way that route never solved anything for me.

    Eventually they will fix it closer to the final release.
     

Share This Page