iOS 8 GM Forces Touch ID Setup

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Corrode, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. Corrode macrumors 6502a

    Corrode

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #1
    Just as the title states: I installed the iOS 8 GM and all went well except it asked me to re-setup Touch ID. Seems weird to me as I don't remember having to do this when restoring my phone before (although this might be the first I've ever restored my 5S).

    Did this happen to anyone else with a 5S?
     
  2. markyr17 macrumors 65816

    markyr17

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #2
    This didn't happen to me... It continued using the fingerprints that I had saved on my device.
     
  3. Corrode thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Corrode

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #3
    Hm, I restored from an iTunes backup. Gonna restore from iCloud and see if that makes a difference. Although TouchID is stored locally so I can't see how this would change anything.
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Whenever I restore the iPhone it tells me to redo Touch ID setup.

    I think somewhere along the way of restoring the OS, it erases the secure element, I guess to prevent you from installing a corrupted OS to steal data from it?
     
  5. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    I restored and it asked me to set up my fingerprint, although I could've skipped past it if I wanted. This makes sense...why would you want your fingerprint to stay on the device even after restoring?
     
  6. lint2015 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #6
    OP is probably saying if you didn't have Touch ID set up previously, the GM now steps you through setting it up after the upgrade.

    For the people who are saying they need to set up Touch ID again after restoring, that's expected behaviour and how it was on iOS 7. The fingerprint hashes are stored in the secure enclave and is never backed up to ensure that it's secure.

    If you restore a backup, then you have to set it up again.
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    IIRC, backups are not supposed to contain your Touch ID information, so setting it up after a full restore is normal.
     
  8. markyr17 macrumors 65816

    markyr17

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #8
    I did the upgrade option, so I upgraded from iOS 8 Beta 5 to the GM without restoring the phone. Just held option while pressing "check for update" in iTunes.

    Maybe this is why I got a different result?
     
  9. Corrode thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Corrode

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #9
    Thanks for the all the replies. I guess this is normal behavior. For some reason I thought the phone would remember my fingerprint even though I restored but now I realize that wouldn't make sense in the instance that the phone is sold, etc.
     
  10. sanke1 macrumors 65816

    sanke1

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
  11. Corrode thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Corrode

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #11
    FYI, when I upgraded my wife's iPhone to iOS 8, we didn't have to re-setup Touch ID.
     
  12. Woochifer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #12
    I restore my phone to the factory settings every other month or so (I do this primarily to purge the "Other" files that accumulate over time), and the stored Touch ID get purged every time I do that. I also restore the phone before installing a major iOS update.

    If you simply restore from backup, that does not wipe the Touch ID prints. I also don't recall Touch ID getting wiped when installing an iOS update without restoring the phone first.
     

Share This Page