iOS 8 programming question

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by perlsyntax, Mar 21, 2015.

  1. perlsyntax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #1
    Can i still make iOS 8 app if i use a mac os x 10.9.5 or do i need to upgrade?i try upgrade to 10.10 all i had was probs.
     
  2. Essenar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #2
    You don't need Yosemite to make iOS 8 applications. You just need to update Xcode.
     
  3. perlsyntax, Mar 21, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015

    perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #3
    I was told i need Yosemite.Can i still use storyboard in Xcode 6.2 on mac os x 10.9?Is iOS 8 64 bit to send in your apps now if i am right?
     
  4. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #4
    You don't need Yosemite. From the Xcode 6.2 page in the Mac App Store:

    The ability to use storyboards has been around since before Xcode 6.2, but yes you can use storyboards as it is dependent upon the version of Xcode, not your version of OS X.

    As for the 64 bit thing, yes Apple is now requiring all updates and new apps be 64 bit (honestly don't know if they are actually requiring it YET, or when the deadline for that is, but for all intents and purposes you should have 64 bit support).
     
  5. mjohnson1212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #5
    FYI, Xcode 6.3 beta 3 requires OS X 10.10 so I assume the release version will as well.
     
  6. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #6
    Well look like i need to get a 64 bit iPad for testing.:)

    I hope they don't just need 10.10 down the road and hope they fix the other things.
     
  7. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #7
    Xcode has typically required the latest or almost the latest MacOS X version. If it doesn't now then it will soon.
     
  8. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #8
    What problems did you have upgrading to Yosemite?

    I've found that Yosemite performs a lot better than Maverick did on my 2007 iMac, and I think every computer that was able to run Maverick is able to run Yosemite according to Apple's docs...
     
  9. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #9
    When i turn on file encrypt when i upgrade i get a blue scene sometime. when i reboot only for a few sec.I was told this something to do with the setting but not sure it true.:)
     
  10. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #10
  11. perlsyntax, Apr 3, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015

    perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #11


    The prob goes away when i don't check encrypt hard drive this odd.It a macbook pro 2012.I was thinking of getting sad see if that help my prob could be the hard drive to have this laptop for a year.

    It does this after a fresh install of mac os x 10.10 when the encrypt is install on the hard drive.
     
  12. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #12
    Apple also has this to say:

    https://support.apple.com/kb/PH14061?locale=en_US

    Although frankly it doesn't say much. Boot into safe mode and repair the disk with Disk Utility. Or maybe an incompatible login item.

    Definitely try to repair the disk.
     

Share This Page