All iPads iOS 8: Sign that there's TouchID on next iPads

Discussion in 'iPad' started by rdy0329, Sep 18, 2014.

1. rdy0329 macrumors 6502

After restarting my rMini, entering the passcode says:

"requires passcode after restarting" just like the iPhone 5s.

Wha do you guys think?

2. vmflapem macrumors 6502

I've never used an ipad or iphone before. Could someone tell me what's so good about touch id? I watched some youtube videos but they seemed nothing more than another way of unlocking the device.

3. matttye macrumors 601

Uses your fingerprint to authenticate.

If you have lots of accounts with varying complex passwords then you normally need to either write them down or use a password manager, otherwise you'll inevitably forget some passwords. With touchid you have an incredibly complex password that you don't need to remember.

4. addictzz macrumors 6502

It gives more incentive for thief to not only steal your beloved touch-id iDevices but also cut your thumbs to help in verification :D

5. barkomatic macrumors 68040

I think its a solid assumption. I think with all the leaks touch ID on the new iPad is pretty much a given. The question is, will they have 2GB of ram?

----------

It's a more convenient way to unlock your device and make purchases for some people. However, if you don't like it then you can use a passcode instead.

6. charlituna macrumors G3

charlituna

I would say that the opening of touch id is a big clue that yes the iPads will have touch id. This message just confirms what really isn't a secret (which is why they had that message in the betas as well)

----------

under iOS 7 that was true. but with iOS 8 third party developers can use touch id so you can use it to sign into lots of things if they are set up that way. i heard that 1password, for example, will let you use touch id for your master password entry.

7. mtneer macrumors 68020

mtneer