iOS 8 Split Screen

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by thaBadfish, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. thaBadfish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #1
    Has anyone else noticed that if you double tap (tap, not click) the home button, the screen slides down to reveal what essentially looks like space for split screen applications? I kept doing this accidentally on my iPhone 6+, and can reproduce is anytime.
    Below are screen shots from Cracked's app showing what I mean.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    You can do it on the home screen as well...
     
  2. Cobold macrumors member

    Cobold

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Dieburg / Germany
    #2
  3. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    As Cobold mention, that's a feature Apple implemented for the 6 and 6+ called Reachbaility. It's to make reaching content on the upper half of the screen easier since the screen is so much larger.
     
  4. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #4
    Split Screen is probably coming in 8.1 when the new iPads are released. They probably haven't put it in the 8.1 Betas yet until after they announced the new Ipads next week.
     
  5. sflomenb macrumors 6502a

    sflomenb

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #5
    Do you think the current iPads would support it? Like the iPad Air.
     
  6. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    It's questionable as to whether it'll work with 1GB of RAM or not
     
  7. jonnyb098 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Nope
     
  8. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    They could.
     
  9. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #9
    But would they?
     
  10. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    To avoid complaints? Nope.
     
  11. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #11
    People are going to complain either way. :p
     
  12. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    This most certainly is true:D
     
  13. dannyyankou macrumors 604

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #13
    But the rumor is that it'll get 2GB of ram.
     
  14. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #14
    The iPhone 6 only has 1GB, so does this mean it's going to be for iPads only?
     
  15. Traverse macrumors 604

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #15
    I think they can depending on apps. A text editor and PDF/one web page? Sure

    A game and a browser? Doubt it.

    ----------

    Would you want spilt screen on a 4.7" display?
     
  16. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #16
    Would you want your question answered with a question?
     
  17. Traverse macrumors 604

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #17
    Well, I highly doubt Apple would implement split screen on an iPhone with only a 4.7" screen. I also doubt it on the 5.5" screen.
     
  18. jonnyb098 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    The iPad Air can only handle 3 or 4 open apps right now. Doing split screen apps would only work on a brand new iPad with 2gb of RAM.
     
  19. ravipiero macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #19

    Another reason to buy the new iPad.
     
  20. perezr10 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Location:
    Monroe, Louisiana
    #20
    I also think that split screen will be only for the new A8/2 GB iPads.
     
  21. oldmacs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Why can't I at least be able to display a screen shot of a screen on one side, and an app on the other side. Surely even my iPad 2 could handle that. For example if I was writing an essay, and needed a webpage or text, I could press a button to have it screen shot safari or whatever app the text was in, then have the image full half the screen and pages on the other half to write.
     

Share This Page