iOS 9.01 won't recognize Snow Leopard for sync

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Kevinsocal, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. Kevinsocal macrumors member

    Kevinsocal

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #1
    I can't back up my iPhone! I still have to use Snow Lepoard because I have an older version of ProTools. I just installed iOS 9.01 on my iPhone and when I plug my phone to sync with iTunes I get the prompt "You must upgrade to the latest version of iTunes to sync." Well, I can't upgrade to the latest version of iTunes because Snow Leopard won't support it. It wants me to go to Lion or Yosemite or something like that - but then I won't be able to use Protools.
    HERE IS THE CRAZY THING - when I plug my iPhone in iTunes refuses to even to even load the iPhone access button in the top left-hand corner. So without being able to access that I cannot downgrade to iOS 9 or, preferably 8.4.1.
    I have the new iPhone 6s arriving this afternoon. Does this mean I won't be able to sync my phone with iTunes in my computer? Is this Apple's way of forcing me to buy a new Mac? Or am I going to have to try to run Yosemite on a 2010 Mac Mini and spend $1,000 to buy a new version of ProTools? This really sucks!
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Well you could always repartition the drive into one for SL and another for whatever version you wanted to run on the second. Then you could sync on the newer and run your old version of Pro Tools on the second. May even be able to run the SL in something like VMWare to only be using the one partition all the time and not have to reboot into the old OS .
     
  3. Kevinsocal thread starter macrumors member

    Kevinsocal

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #3
    Your advice is the best advice - but I need to find an older version of iOS to put on the partition. Certainly iOS 8.4.1, but maybe even iOS 9.0.Fact is, I was able to sync my iPhone a day ago when I had iOS 9 installed. Unfortunately I installed iOS9.0.1 and that seems to be the killer. I NOTE THAT on the day the new iPhone was announced at Bill Graham Stadium there was one announcement that was not made. And it was buried in technical notes on the Apple site - Support for Snow Leopard was being discontinued. iOS 9.0.1 was released after the Keynote speech. I hate it when Apple does this - I know they want to force me into buying a new Mac. The problem is that I need Snow Leopard to run ProTools 8. If I go to 9 or above then I have to run the Lion - Yosemite OS. That means I have to buy a new version of ProTools and that now costs more than $1,000! I am not going to spend $1,000 on ProTools just so I can sync my iPhone.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    You're stuck. It's the same issue that PowerPC Mac users had with the iPhone 4s and upgrading to iOS 7. As long as 4s owners were on iOS 6 they could still sync to a PowerPC Mac. As soon as they upgraded…bam, no more syncing to PowerPC Macs.

    It's the same here. iOS 9 = Lion or higher.
     
  5. Kevinsocal thread starter macrumors member

    Kevinsocal

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #5
    Let me ask this. I have a mid-season 2010 Mac Mini. Intel. I can partition the HD. Can I install Yosemite on it? I don't think the Lion's are available as free downloads.
    I need to be able to run snow leopard because I need to run an older version of ProTools.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    I'm not sure. But I think you can.

    What about calling Apple and asking if you can purchase Lion? They'll still sell it to you I think.
     
  7. Kevinsocal thread starter macrumors member

    Kevinsocal

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #7
    Lion / Yosemite - - - is there really a difference? I think Yosemite is a free download and it would work better with the newest version of iTunes. I will do my research.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    LOL!

    I own several PowerPC Macs running Leopard and a few running Tiger. I have one MBP running Snow Leopard and I am typing this on my work MacPro running Yosemite. The MP has been on Lion, ML, Mav and now Yosemite and I can tell you right now that Leopard/Snow Leopard are the best of the lot. Didn't really care for Lion/ML although there wasn't anything technically wrong with them, just boring. Mav. killed labels, which I use a lot and had Finder instability issues in a mixed network environment. I hate it. And Yosemite, while it fixed the networking issue isn't much of an improvement over Mav.

    So, yeah, it may be free, but I'll just say you get what you pay for.

    Incidentally, Lion made it impossible to size Finder windows down below a certain level without an Applescript and I use my Finder windows much smaller than that minimum size. This has yet to be fixed.
     
  9. Kevinsocal thread starter macrumors member

    Kevinsocal

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #9
    Yes, Snow Leopard is a lean system that works great - but again, will Yosemite install on a 2010 mid-year Intel Mac Mini?
     
  10. flyingturtle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #10
    Your 2010 Mac Mini should be compatible, according to Apple's website for Yosemite's requirements.

    http://www.apple.com/osx/how-to-upgrade/

    These Mac models are compatible with OS X Yosemite:

    • iMac (Mid 2007 or newer)
    • MacBook (Late 2008 Aluminum, or Early 2009 or newer)
    • MacBook Pro (Mid/Late 2007 or newer)
    • MacBook Air (Late 2008 or newer)
    • Mac mini (Early 2009 or newer)
    • Mac Pro (Early 2008 or newer)
    • Xserve (Early 2009)
     
  11. JeffG111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
    I have more than one software issue that keeps me in Snow Leopard. It angers me that Apple knowingly did this without sharing the information and letting us make our own decision. I will not be buying a new computer and dealing with inferior and less stable versions of Logic Pro. No, I will have to use my old PC to sync my iPhone. Mac support only offered an "I'm sorry, but let us know if there's anything else we can do." Well, giving us a window to be able to revert to IOS 8 is what they can do. Anything short of that reveals Apple once again that they are masters of secretive downgrades. It did not have to happen like this. And I agree... it really sucks!
     
  12. Mick4Mac macrumors newbie

    Mick4Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    #12
    Well - a work around might be using a 3rd party iOS sync software..!
    The one I use is from ecamm - called PhoneView ( http://www.ecamm.com/mac/phoneview/ ):
    Bacwards compatible to SL and fully maintained to be compatible with iOS 9.2
     

Share This Page